Bachelor of Science (BSc) specialising in Biomedical Science from 2019

From 2019 you'll have more options available to you within a BSc Biomedical Science specialisation.

Your BSc programme will consist of a number of courses worth 15 points each, totalling 360 points. From 2019, you can choose to keep your Biomedical Science specialisation general, or you can follow one of nine pathways as a way to focus your studies further.

As part of your specialisation you'll complete the Biomedical Science capstone course, BIOSCI 399, in your final year of study. The capstone course will allow you to debate contemporary issues in biomedicine, and use your scientific reasoning to counter misunderstandings and misrepresentation.

For your general Biomedical Science specialisation you must complete the following courses, plus the Biomedical Science capstone course, BIOMED 399:

Year 1 compulsory core courses

Year 2 onwards

*Subject to approval for 2019.
**Biomedical Science students can only take General Education courses from Schedule O and EMHSS.

Biomedical Science pathways, from 2019

As a Biomedical Science student you’ll take compulsory core courses in your first year of study. After your first year you can choose to keep your Biomedical Science specialisation general, or you can choose to follow one of the following pathways:

Preparing for your Biomedical Science specialisation

Some students will feel more prepared for our Biomedical Science courses if they have already studied some science subjects in high school.

Find out which school subjects will help you feel prepared by reading our Subject guide for school students.

Help and advice

For further information and advice, please contact the Science Student Centre.

Science Student Centre
Level G, Room G 20
(beside the entrance to the Large Chemistry Lecture Theatre)
Building 301
23 Symonds Street
Auckland 1010

Phone: +64 9 923 7020