Postgraduate advisers

Contact details and documentation for assistance with your postgraduate study.

General Enquiries

General enquiries can be directed to the Student Hubs:

Email: studentinfo@auckland.ac.nz

For more specific information or advice about programmes or research opportunities, please contact the relevant school or programme postgraduate advisers below.

Postgraduate advisers

Architecture, Heritage Conservation, Housing, Urban Design and Urban Planning
 

PhD in Architecture
Dr Ferdinand Oswald
Email: ferdinand.oswald@auckland.ac.nz

PhD in Heritage Conservation
Dr Julia Gatley
Email: julia.gatley@auckland.ac.nz

PhD in Urban Design
Dr Lee Beattie
Email: l.beattie@auckland.ac.nz

PhD in Urban Planning
Dr Timothy Welch
Email: t.welch@auckland.ac.nz

PhD in Creative Practice
Dr Sarosh Mulla 
Email: s.mulla@auckland.ac.nz

Dance Studies

Adviser for Postgraduate Study, Dance Studies
Sarah Foster-Sproull
Email: s.foster-sproull@auckland.ac.nz

Adviser for Doctoral Study
Dr Ralph Buck
Email: r.buck@auckland.ac.nz

Fine Arts 

Adviser for Postgraduate Study, Fine Arts
James Cousins
Email: j.cousins@auckland.ac.nz

Adviser for Doctoral Study (PhD in Fine Arts and DocFA)
Dr Sean Kerr
Email: s.kerr@auckland.ac.nz


Design

Adviser for Postgraduate Study, Design
Aaron Fry
Email: aaron.fry@auckland.ac.nz

Adviser for Doctoral Study (PhD in Design)
Dr Barbara Ribeiro
Email: b.ribeiro@auckland.ac.nz

Music

Director of Postgraduate Studies
Dr Gregory Camp
Email: g.camp@auckland.ac.nz

Postgraduate policies and guidelines

Postgraduate students are encouraged to familiarise themselves with all the University policies and guidelines relating to their study. These can be found here.

In particular, your attention is drawn to the following two documents which relate to off-campus study:

  1. This document relates to the need for Masters students to work off-campus for a period, for example to conduct field work, use laboratory facilities or access special library collections. Read more here.
  2. This document relates to temporary absence (off-campus activity) by doctoral candidates at the University of Auckland for a period of between two months and one year, for instance to perform field work or complete laboratory work. Such absence may have an impact on the fees that you are charged. Read more here.