Key contacts for advice

Find the contact details for doctoral and postgraduate advisers across all of our schools and departments.

Counselling, Human Services and Social Work

Master of Social Work (Professional)

Dr Barbara Staniforth | Director - Social Work
Email: b.staniforth@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48349

Postgraduate Diploma in Social Work and Master of Social Work (Thesis)

Dr Ian Hyslop | Senior Lecturer
Email: i.hyslop@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 46439

Postgraduate Certificate and Diploma in Professional Supervision

Dr Matt Rankine | Lecturer
Email: m.rankine@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48500

Counselling

Dr Peter Bray | Senior Lecturer
Email: p.bray@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48746

Postgraduate Certificate and Master of Social and Community Leadership

Dr Kelsey Deane | Senior Lecturer
Email: k.deane@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48685

Doctoral programmes

Prof Susan Kemp | Professor
Email: s.kemp@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48489

Dr Allen Bartley | Head of School
Email: a.bartley@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48140

Critical Studies in Education

Doctoral programmes

Assoc Prof Barbara Grant | Associate Professor
Email: bm.grant@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48272

Masters and Honours programmes

Professor Louisa Allen
Email: le.allen@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5140

Curriculum and Pedagogy

Masters and Honours

Dr Adrienne Sansom | Senior Lecturer
Email: a.sansom@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48400

Doctoral programmes

Dr Gillian Ward | Senior Lecturer
Email: g.ward@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48840

Dr Darren Powell | Senior Lecturer
Email: d.powell@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48647

Learning, Development and Professional Practice

Masters, Honours and Doctoral programmes

Assoc Prof Helen Dixon | Associate Professor
Email: h.dixon@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48547

Dr Kane Meissel | Senior Lecturer
Email: k.meissel@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48722

Dr Marek Tesar | Senior Lecturer
Email: m.tesar@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 46375

Te Puna Wānanga

All postgraduate programmes

Dr Helene Connor
Senior Lecturer
Email: h.connor@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 373 7599 ext 48393

Doctoral and Postgraduate Research Administrator

The faculty Doctoral and PGR Administrator will be able to help you with anything you need to know about applying for doctoral study and faculty research approval for dissertations and theses in the Faculty of Education and Social Work.

Mrs Leigh Beever | Doctoral and PGR Coordinator
Email: l.beever@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 48812

Education and Social Work Student Centre

For further information, visit or contact the Education and Social Work Student Centre.