Rankings and reputation

University city campus aerial view.

New Zealand’s world-ranked arts faculty

We are consistently ranked among the world’s top 50 arts faculties by the QS World University Rankings. We were ranked 28th in the world for arts and humanities and 33rd for social sciences in the 2018 QS World University Rankings.

We are proud to be home to the University of Auckland’s highest-ranked subject: Archaeology, and we were first in New Zealand in 10 of the 11 arts subjects ranked by QS in 2018.

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2018

  • Anthropology, 41st
  • Archaeology, 10th
  • Communication and media studies, top 100
  • Development studies, 41st
  • English language and literature, 31st
  • History, 51-100
  • Linguistics, 51-100
  • Modern languages, 41st
  • Philosophy, 36th
  • Politics and international studies, 51-100
  • Sociology, 51-100

Recognised by the Royal Society Te Apārangi

The excellence of our research has been recognised by the Royal Society Te Apārangi. We currently have four Royal Society Te Apārangi medallists on staff, and two Royal Society Te Apārangi award winners.

  • Professor Tracey McIntosh, Te Rangi Hiroa Medal 2017
  • Professor Cris Shore, Mason Durie Medal 2017
  • Distinguished Professor Brian Boyd, Humanities Aronui Medal 2014
  • Distinguished Professor Dame Anne Salmond, Rutherford Medal 2013
  • Dr Aroha Harris, Early Career Research Excellence Award for Humanities 2017
  • Professor Margaret Mutu, Pou Aronui Award 2015

Funded by Marsden

We currently have 16 Marsden awards across all four of our schools totalling $9m, including seven won in 2017 totalling $4.6m.

Featured in the New Zealand Book Awards

Seven of our current staff have won nine national book awards between them in history, art history, fiction and poetry, including kaupapa Māori research.

  • Dr Ngarino Ellis, Judith Binney Best First Book Award for Illustrated Non-fiction 2017 for A Whakapapa of Tradition: One Hundred Years of Ngāti Porou Carving, 1830-1930
  • Dr Aroha Harris (with Atholl Anderson and Judith Binney), Illustrated Non-fiction 2016 for Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History
  • Dr Paula Morris, Fiction 2012 for Rangatira , NZSA Hubert Church Best First Book Award for Fiction 2003 for Queen of Beauty
  • Associate Professor Selina Tusitala Marsh, NZSA Jessie Mackay Best First Book Award for Poetry 2010 for Fast Talking PI
  • Professor Linda Waimarie Nikora (with Ngahuia Te Awekotuku, Mohi Rua and Rolinda Karapu), Lifestyle and Contemporary Culture 2008 for Mau Moko: The World of Māori Tattoo
  • Distinguished Professor Dame Anne Salmond, Montana Medal for Non-Fiction 2004 for The Trial of the Cannibal Dog: Captain Cook in the South Seas, Non-fiction 1992 for Two Worlds: First Meetings Between Māori and Europeans, 1642–1772
  • Professor Michele Leggott, Poetry 1995 for DIA