Who we are

The PPI brings together researchers, practitioners and postgraduate students from across the University of Auckland and the wider community.


Professor Jennifer Curtin
Professor Jennifer Curtin © Fairfax Media

Professor Jennifer Curtin is the Director of the PPI and the Coordinator of our Master of Public Policy (MPP) programme.

Jennifer teaches comparative public policy and runs an internship course for postgraduate students, working with the Auckland Policy Office, MBIE and Auckland Council, as well as with smaller policy consultancies and non-profit organisations.

Her research focuses on trans-Tasman policy innovations, sport and politics, and gender analysis in policy making. She has undertaken collaborative research projects with womens' policy agencies in Australia and womens' organisations in New Zealand, and has published widely on topics related to this theme.

She was an NZ-Fulbright Senior Research Scholar in 2012 and regularly speaks about issues connected with her research at national and international conferences and in the media.

Research team

Dr Suzanne Woodward
Knowledge Translation Specialist

Gay Marie Francisco
Research Administrator

Research associates

Suzy Morrissey
Tax, transfers, and gender analysis

Dr Tom Baker
The politics of policy

Jess Berentson-Shaw
Population wellbeing, evidence and policy

Dr Celestyna Galicki
Research Analyst

Dr Julie MacArthur
Renewable energy policy

Dr Timothy Fadgen
International development, immigration law and policy transfer

Professor Alan Tidwell
Peacemaking and conflict-resolution

Dr Alasdair Jones
Sustainability, mobility and urban life

Dr Adrian Field
Public health, transport and urban environments

Honorary Associate Professor Susan St John
Child Poverty Action Group, Retirement Policy and Research Centre