Our people

The PPI brings together researchers, practitioners and postgraduate students from across the University of Auckland and the wider community.

Director

Professor Jennifer Curtin
Professor Jennifer Curtin © Fairfax Media

Professor Jennifer Curtin is the Director of the PPI.

Jennifer is a Professor of Politics and Director of the Public Policy Institute at the University of Auckland. Her research and publications focus on Australian and New Zealand politics and policy, gender, policy analysis and political leadership, and the politics of sport. She teaches comparative public policy, lesson drawing and the gender analysis in the Master of Public Policy and she is the PhD Adviser for Public Policy. Her research involves engagement with a range of government agencies, policy consultancies and non-profit organisations, and her publications appear in scholarly outlets, peer reviewed reports, and policy briefings. She regularly shares her findings with community organisations and the media, both in New Zealand and internationally.

Jennifer is currently leading externally funded projects on the following topics: Gender Responsive Budgeting in New Zealand; the Gendered Effects of COVID19 globally and locally; Gender and Political Leadership at the Subnational Level in Australia and Canada; as well as being a Principal Investigator on the New Zealand Election Study.  You can find more of her policy-relevant research on the PPI-sponsored website Auckland Policy Commons (policycommons.ac.nz), and the Gender Responsive Analysis and Budgeting website (www.grab-nz.ac.nz).

Deputy Director

Juan Tauri
Associate Professor Juan Tauri

Associate Professor Juan Tauri is Deputy Director of the PPI

Juan Tauri (Ngati Porou, Ngati Tuwharetoa) is a criminologist and Associate Professor in the Public Policy Institute, University of Auckland. Juan is a critical commentator on a range of social and policy issues, including state responses to Indigenous critique of crime control policies and interventions, the prison industrial complex and its impact on Indigenous peoples, the impact of institutional research ethics processes on Indigenous-led research, and the politics of policy development in settler-colonial contexts. 

Research team

Dr Suzanne Woodward
Associate Director Research Impact
Knowledge Translation Specialist
s.woodward@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Timothy Fadgen
Associate Director Postgraduate Programmes
timothy.fadgen@auckland.ac.nz

Adam White
Research Co-ordinator
a.white@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Bickerton 
Lecturer in Public Policy
sarah.bickerton@auckland.ac.nz

Victoria Woodman 
Research Analyst
victoria.woodman@auckland.ac.nz

Komathi Kolandai-Matchett 
Research Fellow
komathi.kolandai-matchett@auckland.ac.nz

Ritu Parna Roy
Research Development Manager
ritu.roy@auckland.ac.nz

Mohammad Salimifar
Lecturer in Public Policy
m.salimifar@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Oluwakemi Igiebor
Research Fellow
o.igiebor@auckland.ac.nz

Holly Willson
Knowledge Translation Assistant
holly.willson@auckland.ac.nz

Udari Herath
Research Assistant
uher386@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Karlee Waru
Research Assistant

Claire Pascua
Policy Short Course Success Advisor
claire.pascua@auckland.ac.nz

Ashton Mismash
Policy Short Course Technical Advisor
ashton.mismash@auckland.ac.nz

Research associates

Dr Tom Baker
The politics of policy
t.baker@auckland.ac.nz

Jess Berentson-Shaw
Population wellbeing, evidence and policy
jess@theworkshop.org.nz

Lincoln Dam
Multiculturalism and Biculturalism
lincoln.dam@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kiri Edge
Education, Health, Indigenous Development, Kaupapa Māori Research, Psychology / Mental Health
kiriedge@gmail.com

Dr Adrian Field
Public health, transport and urban environments
adrian@dovetailnz.com

Eilala Fihaki
Climate change, adaptation, environmental governance
efihaki@gmail.com

Dr Celestyna Galicki
Comparative Policy Anlaysis, Youth Representation, Financial Literacy
celestyna.galicki@cffc.org.nz

AP Luke Goode
Critical Future studies, communication and policy
l.goode@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Alasdair Jones
Sustainability, mobility and urban life
A.Jones13@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Steffen Lippert
Climate cooperation, innovation and collective decision-making
s.lippert@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Julie MacArthur
Renewable energy policy
Julie.1macarthur@royalroads.ca

Dr Suzy Morrissey
Tax, transfers, and gender analysis
s.morrissey@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sereana Naepi
Equity. higher education, Pacific research methodologies
s.naepi@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Antonio Romero
Public policy, public service reform and climate change in Central America
arom008@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Honorary Associate Professor Susan St John
Child Poverty Action Group, Retirement Policy and Research Centre
s.stjohn@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Alan Tidwell
Peacemaking and conflict-resolution
act35@georgetown.edu

Josh van Veen
Electoral politics and policy, voter behaviour and social policy attitudes
jvan158@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Kiri West
Communication, storytelling and policy
k.west-mcgruer@auckland.ac.nz

Academic Advisory Board