Our people

The PPI brings together researchers, practitioners and postgraduate students from across the University of Auckland and the wider community.

Director

Professor Jennifer Curtin
Professor Jennifer Curtin © Fairfax Media

Professor Jennifer Curtin is the Director of the PPI and the Coordinator of our Master of Public Policy (MPP) programme.

Jennifer teaches comparative public policy and runs an internship course for postgraduate students, working with the Auckland Policy Office, MBIE and Auckland Council, as well as with smaller policy consultancies and non-profit organisations.

Her research focuses on trans-Tasman policy innovations, sport and politics, and gender analysis in policy making. She has undertaken collaborative research projects with womens' policy agencies in Australia and womens' organisations in New Zealand, and has published widely on topics related to this theme.

She was an NZ-Fulbright Senior Research Scholar in 2012 and regularly speaks about issues connected with her research at national and international conferences and in the media.

Research team

Dr Suzanne Woodward
Associate Director Research Impact
Knowledge Translation Specialist
s.woodward@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Timothy Fadgen
Associate Director Postgraduate Programmes
timothy.fadgen@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Lara Greaves
Associate Director Policy Inc
lara.greaves@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Bickerton 
Post-doctoral scholar
sarah.bickerton@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kiri Edge 
Post-doctoral scholar
kiri.edge@auckland.ac.nz

Gay Marie Francisco 
Research Co-ordinator
gaym.francisco@auckland.ac.nz

Victoria Woodman 
Research Analyst
victoria.woodman@auckland.ac.nz

Research associates

Dr Tom Baker
The politics of policy
t.baker@auckland.ac.nz

Jess Berentson-Shaw
Population wellbeing, evidence and policy
jess@theworkshop.org.nz

Lincoln Dam
Multiculturalism and Biculturalism
lincoln.dam@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Tim Fadgen
International development, immigration law and policy transfer
timothy.fadgen@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Adrian Field
Public health, transport and urban environments
adrian@dovetailnz.com

Dr Celestyna Galicki
Comparative Policy Anlaysis, Youth Representation, Financial Literacy
celestyna.galicki@cffc.org.nz

AP Luke Goode
Critical Future studies, communication and policy
l.goode@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Lara Greaves
Māori Politics and electorates, Voting and Political Attitudes, Surveys
lara.greaves@auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Louise Humpage
Social Policy, Indiginous affairs, refugee policy, settlement and citizenship
l.humpage@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Alasdair Jones
Sustainability, mobility and urban life
a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Dr Steffen Lippert
Climate cooperation, innovation and collective decision-making
s.lippert@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Julie MacArthur
Renewable energy policy
j.macarthur@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Suzy Morrissey
Tax, transfers, and gender analysis
s.morrissey@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Antonio Romero
Public policy, public service reform and climate change in Central America
arom008@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Honorary Associate Professor Susan St John
Child Poverty Action Group, Retirement Policy and Research Centre
s.stjohn@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Alan Tidwell
Peacemaking and conflict-resolution
act35@georgetown.edu

Academic Advisory Board