Teachers by discipline

We understand that decisions about where to study music are often based upon the calibre of the teachers and the teacher-student relationship. Below is a list of available instrument and performance teachers by discipline. You are invited to contact staff directly for any queries you may have.  

Voice

Dr Morag Atchison - voice
View Morag's profile
Email: m.atchison@auckland.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller - accompanist, vocal coach
View Rachel's profile
Email: r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Karen Grylls - choir, choral conducting
View Karen's profile
Email: k.grylls@auckland.ac.nz

Catrin Johnsson - voice
View Catrin's profile
Email: c.johnsson@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Te Oti Rakena - voice
View Te Oti's profile
Email: t.rakena@auckland.ac.nz

Kay Shacklock - accompanist
Email: k.shacklock@auckland.ac.nz

Robert Wiremu - vocal coach
View Robert's profile
Email: r.wiremu@auckland.ac.nz

Woodwind

Ben Hoadley - bassoon, baroque bassoon
View Ben's profile
Email: b.hoadley@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Jamieson - classical saxophone
Email: m.jamieson@auckland.ac.nz

Martin Lee - oboe
Email: martin.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kathryn Moorhead - flute
Email:
 kathryn.moorhead@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - clarinet, historical clarinet
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Jennifer Seddon-Mori - piccolo
Email: j.seddon-mori@auckland.ac.nz

Sally Tibbles - baroque flute
Emailsally.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Brass

Nicola Baker - french horn
Email: nicola.baker@auckland.ac.nz

Doug Cross - trombone
Email: d.cross@auckland.ac.nz

Huw Dann - trumpet, baroque trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Percussion

Eric Renick - percussion
Email
: eric.renick@auckland.ac.nz

Manjit Singh - tabla

Strings

Andrew Beer - violin
Email: a.beer@auckland.ac.nz

Mark Bennett - violin
Email: mark.bennett@auckland.ac.nz

Christine Bowie - viola

Yi Jin - harp
Email: yi.jin@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Larsen - violin
Email: s.larsen@auckland.ac.nz

Barkin Sertkaya - guitar
Email: barkin.sertkaya@auckland.ac.nz

James Yoo - cello
View James's profile
Email: james.yoo@auckland.ac.nz

Bella Zilber - double bass
Email:
 a.zilber@auckland.ac.nz

Keyboard

Associate Professor Rae de Lisle - piano
Email: r.delisle@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen De Pledge - piano
View Stephen's profile
Email: s.depledge@auckland.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller - piano
View Rachel's profile
Email: r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Richard Liu

Grayson Masefield - accordion
Email: grayson.masefield@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Philip Smith - organ

Dr Sarah Watkins - piano
View Sarah's profile
Email: sarah.watkins@auckland.ac.nz

Early Music

Huw Dann - baroque trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Miranda Hutton - baroque violin
Email: miranda.hutton@auckland.ac.nz

Imogen Morris - recorder
View Imogen's profile
Email: imogen.morris@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - historical clarinets
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Polly Sussex - viola da gamba
Email: m.sussex@auckland.ac.nz

Sally Tibbles - baroque flute
Email: sally.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Wen Chuan Lin - historical viola

Composition

Dr David Chisholm - composition
View David's profile
Email: david.chisholm@auckland.ac.nz

Dr John Coulter - sonic arts
View John's profile
Email: j.coulter@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Chris Gendall
Email: 
chris.gendall@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Leonie Holmes - composition
View Leonie's profile
Email: l.holmes@auckland.ac.nz

Conducting

Jazz

Mike Booth - trumpet
Email: michael.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kevin Field - piano
View Kevin's profile
Email: k.field@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Olivier Holland - bass
View Olivier's profile
Email: o.holland@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Howell
Email:
 michael.howell@auckland.ac.nz

Caroline Manins - voice 
Email: c.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Roger Manins - saxophone
View Roger's profile
Email: r.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Chelsea Prastiti - voice
Email: 
c.prastiti@auckland.ac.nz

Keith Price - guitar
View Keith's profile
Email: 
keith.price@auckland.ac.nz

Ron Samsom - jazz drums
View Ron's profile
Email: r.samsom@auckland.ac.nz

Popular Music

Jessie Booth - guitar
Email: jessie.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Godfrey De Grut - piano
View Godfrey's profile
Email: g.degrut@auckland.ac.nz

Toni Randle Keegan - vocal
Email:
 toni.randle@auckland.ac.nz

Peter Leopolu - piano

Stephen Matthews
View Stephen's profile
Email: 
sr.matthews@auckland.ac.nz

Andy Smith - guitar
Email: 
andy.c.smith@auckland.ac.nz

Accompanists

Camila de Oliveira
Email: 
cdeo866@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller
Email: 
r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Kent Isomura 
View Kent's profile
Email: k.isomura@auckland.ac.nz

David Kelly
Email: david.kelly@auckland.ac.nz

Juan Kim
View Juan's profile
Email: juan.kim@auckland.ac.nz

Ben Kubiak
Email:
 ben.kubiak@auckland.ac.nz

Kay Shacklock
Email: 
k.shacklock@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Watkins
View Sarah's profile
Email: sarah.watkins@auckland.ac.nz

Music Education

Music Production

Music Technology

Musicology