Teachers by discipline

We understand that decisions about where to study music are often based upon the calibre of the teachers and the teacher-student relationship. Below is a list of available instrument and performance teachers by discipline. You are invited to contact staff directly for any queries you may have.  

Voice

Dr Morag Atchison - voice
View Morag's profile
Email: m.atchison@auckland.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller - accompanist, vocal coach
View Rachel's profile
Email: r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Karen Grylls - choir, choral conducting
View Karen's profile
Email: k.grylls@auckland.ac.nz

Catrin Johnsson - voice
View Catrin's profile
Email: c.johnsson@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Te Oti Rakena - voice
View Te Oti's profile
Email: t.rakena@auckland.ac.nz

Kay Shacklock - accompanist
Email: k.shacklock@auckland.ac.nz

Robert Wiremu - vocal coach
View Robert's profile
Email: r.wiremu@auckland.ac.nz

Woodwind

Dr Kathryn Moorhead - flute
Email:
 kathryn.moorhead@auckland.ac.nz

Martin Lee - oboe
View Martin's profile
Email: martin.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - clarinet
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Ben Hoadley - bassoon
View Ben's profile
Email: b.hoadley@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Jamieson - classical saxophone
View Michael's profile
Email: m.jamieson@auckland.ac.nz

Jennifer Seddon-Mori - piccolo
Email: j.seddon-mori@auckland.ac.nz

Brass

Nicola Baker - french horn
View Nicola's profile
Email: nicola.baker@auckland.ac.nz

Huw Dann - trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Doug Cross - trombone
View Doug's profile
Email: d.cross@auckland.ac.nz

Tak Chun Lai - tuba, euphonium
View Tak Chun's profile
Email: takchun.lai@auckland.ac.nz

Percussion

Laurence Reese - timpani
Email: laurence.reese@auckland.ac.nz

Eric Renick - percussion
Email: eric.renick@auckland.ac.nz

Strings

Andrew Beer - violin
View Andrew's profile
Email: a.beer@auckland.ac.nz

Elizabeth Holowell - violin
View Elizabeth's profile
Email: e.holowell@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Larsen - violin
View Stephen's profile
Email: s.larsen@auckland.ac.nz

David Samuel - viola
View David's profile
Email: david.samuel@auckland.ac.nz

James Yoo - cello
View James's profile
Email: james.yoo@auckland.ac.nz

Martin Rummel - cello 
View Martin's profile 
Email: m.rummel@auckland.ac.nz

Bella Zilber - double bass
View Bella's profile
Email: a.zilber@auckland.ac.nz

Barkin Sertkaya - guitar
View Barkin's profile
Email: barkin.sertkaya@auckland.ac.nz

Yi Jin - harp
View Yi's profile
Email: yi.jin@auckland.ac.nz

Keyboard

Dr Rae de Lisle - piano
View Rae's profile
Email: r.delisle@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen De Pledge - piano
View Stephen's profile
Email: s.depledge@auckland.ac.nz

Katherine Austin - piano
View Katherine's profile
Email: katherine.austin@auckland.ac.nz

David Guerin - piano
View David's profile
Email: d.guerin@auckland.ac.nz

Grayson Masefield - accordion
Email: grayson.masefield@auckland.ac.nz

James Tibbles - harpsichord, organ, early keyboards
View James' profile
Email: j.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Watkins - piano
View Sarah's profile
Email: sarah.watkins@auckland.ac.nz

Early Music

Margaret Cooke - baroque cello
Email: margaret.cooke@auckland.ac.nz

Huw Dann - baroque trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Graham McPhail - baroque violin
View Graham's profile
Email: graham.mcphail@auckland.ac.nz

Peter Reid - cornetto
Email: peter.reid@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - historical clarinets
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Jessica Shaw - recorder
Email: jessica.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

Polly Sussex - viola da gamba
Email: m.sussex@auckland.ac.nz

James Tibbles - early keyboards
View James' profile
Email: j.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Sally Tibbles - baroque flute
Email: sally.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz

Contemporary Music

Dr John Coulter - sonic arts
View John's profile
Email: j.coulter@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Eve de Castro-Robinson - composition
View Eve's profile 
Email: e.decastro@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Leonie Holmes - composition
View Leonie's profile
Email: l.holmes@auckland.ac.nz

Conducting

Jazz and Popular Music

Mike Booth - jazz trumpet
Email: michael.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Godfrey De Grut - popular music piano
View Godfrey's profile
Email: g.degrut@auckland.ac.nz

Kiri Eriwata - popular music vocals
View Kiri's profile
Email: k.eriwata@auckland.ac.nz

Kevin Field
View Kevin's profile
Email: k.field@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Olivier Holland - jazz bass
View Olivier's profile
Email: o.holland@auckland.ac.nz

Kevin Haines - jazz bass
Email: kevin.haines@auckland.ac.nz

Nathan Haines - jazz saxophone
Email: nathan.haines@auckland.ac.nz

Roger Manins - jazz saxophone
View Roger's profile
Email: r.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Jason Jones
Email: jason.jones@auckland.ac.nz

Caroline Manins - jazz voice
Email: c.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Ron Samsom - jazz drums
View Ron's profile
Email: r.samsom@auckland.ac.nz

Dixon Nacey - jazz guitar
View Dixon's profile
Email: d.nacey@auckland.ac.nz

Chris O'Connor - jazz drums
Email: c.oconnor@auckland.ac.nz

Phil Broadhurst - jazz piano
Email: p.broadhurst@auckland.ac.nz

Neil Watson - jazz and popular music guitar
Email: n.watson@auckland.ac.nz

Grant Winterburn - jazz and popular music piano
View Grant's profile
Email: grant.winterburn@auckland.ac.nz

Accompanists

Vivian Balzat
Email: v.balzat@auckland.ac.nz

Rosemary Barnes
View Rosemary's profile
Email: rosemary.barnes@auckland.ac.nz

Grace Francis - piano and harpsichord
Email: g.francis@auckland.ac.nz

Kent Isomura 
View Kent's profile
Email: k.isomura@auckland.ac.nz

David Kelly
Email: david.kelly@auckland.ac.nz

Juan Kim
View Juan's profile
Email: juan.kim@auckland.ac.nz

Tina (Inah) Kim
Email: i.kim@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Watkins
View Sarah's profile
Email: sarah.watkins@auckland.ac.nz