Teachers by discipline

We understand that decisions about where to study music are often based upon the calibre of the teachers and the teacher-student relationship. Below is a list of available instrument and performance teachers by discipline. You are invited to contact staff directly for any queries you may have.  

Voice

Dr Morag Atchison - voice
View Morag's profile
Email: m.atchison@auckland.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller - accompanist, vocal coach
View Rachel's profile
Email: r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Karen Grylls - choir, choral conducting
View Karen's profile
Email: k.grylls@auckland.ac.nz

Catrin Johnsson - voice
View Catrin's profile
Email: c.johnsson@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Te Oti Rakena - voice
View Te Oti's profile
Email: t.rakena@auckland.ac.nz

Kay Shacklock - accompanist
Email: k.shacklock@auckland.ac.nz

Lindy Tennent-Brown - accompanist, vocal coach
View Lindy's profile
Email: lindy.tennent-brown@auckland.ac.nz

Robert Wiremu - vocal coach
View Robert's profile
Email: r.wiremu@auckland.ac.nz

Woodwind

Jonathan Cohen - clarinet
View Jonathan's profile
Email: jonathan.cohen@auckland.ac.nz

Bede Hanley - oboe
View Bede's profile
Email: bede.hanley@auckland.ac.nz

Ben Hoadley - bassoon, baroque bassoon
View Ben's profile
Email: b.hoadley@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Jamieson - classical saxophone
Email: m.jamieson@auckland.ac.nz

Martin Lee - oboe
View Martin's profile
Email: martin.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Luca Manghi - flute
Email: TBA

Dr Marie Ross - clarinet, historical clarinet
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Jennifer Seddon-Mori - piccolo
View Jennifer's profile
Email: j.seddon-mori@auckland.ac.nz

Brass

Doug Cross - trombone
View Doug's profile
Email: d.cross@auckland.ac.nz

Huw Dann - trumpet, baroque trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Alex Jeantou - tuba
View Alex's profile
Email: alexander.jeantou@auckland.ac.nz

Simon Williams - french horn
Email: TBC

Percussion

Eric Renick - percussion
View Eric's profile
Email: eric.renick@auckland.ac.nz

Manjit Singh - tabla
View Manjit's profile
Email: manjit.singh@auckland.ac.nz

Strings

Andrew Beer - violin
View Andrew's profile
Email: a.beer@auckland.ac.nz

Mark Bennett - violin, viola
View Mark's profile
Email: mark.bennett@auckland.ac.nz

Johnny Chang - violin
View Johnny's profile
Email: johnny.chang@auckland.ac.nz

Yi Jin - harp
View Yi's profile
Email: yi.jin@auckland.ac.nz

Evgeny Lanchtchikov - double bass
View Evgeny's profile
Email: evgueni.lanchtchikov@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Larsen - violin
View Stephen's profile
Email: s.larsen@auckland.ac.nz

Barkin Sertkaya - guitar
View Barkin's profile
Email: barkin.sertkaya@auckland.ac.nz

James Tennant - cello
Email: TBC

James Yoo - cello
View James's profile
Email: james.yoo@auckland.ac.nz

Keyboard

Katherine Austin - piano
View Katherine's profile
Email: katherine.austin@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen De Pledge - piano
View Stephen's profile
Email: s.depledge@auckland.ac.nz

Rachel Fuller - piano
View Rachel's profile
Email: r.fuller@auckland.ac.nz

Richard Liu

Grayson Masefield - accordion
View Grayson's profile
Email: grayson.masefield@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Philip Smith - organ
View Philip's profile
Email: philip.smith@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Watkins - piano
View Sarah's profile
Email: sarah.watkins@auckland.ac.nz

Early Music

Huw Dann - baroque trumpet
View Huw's profile
Email: h.dann@auckland.ac.nz

Miranda Hutton - baroque violin
Email: miranda.hutton@auckland.ac.nz

Imogen Morris - recorder
View Imogen's profile
Email: imogen.morris@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Marie Ross - historical clarinets
View Marie's profile
Email: marie.ross@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Polly Sussex - viola da gamba
Email: m.sussex@auckland.ac.nz

Composition

Conducting

Jazz

Mike Booth - trumpet
View Mike's profile
Email: michael.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kevin Field - piano
View Kevin's profile
Email: k.field@auckland.ac.nz

Allana Goldsmith - voice
View Allana's profile
Email: allana.goldsmith@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Olivier Holland - bass
View Olivier's profile
Email: o.holland@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Howell
View Michael's profile
Email: michael.howell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Roger Manins - saxophone
View Roger's profile
Email: r.manins@auckland.ac.nz

Cameron McArthur - bass
View Cameron's profile
Email: cameron.mcarthur@auckland.ac.nz

Dixon Nacey - guitar
View Dixon's profile
Email: d.nacey@auckland.ac.nz

Chris O'Connor - drums
View Chris' profile
Email: christopher.oconnor@auckland.ac.nz

Callum Passells - saxaphone
View Callum's profile
Email: callum.passells@auckland.ac.nz

Chelsea Prastiti - voice
View Chelsea's profile
Email: c.prastiti@auckland.ac.nz

Keith Price - guitar
View Keith's profile
Email: 
keith.price@auckland.ac.nz

Ron Samsom - jazz drums
View Ron's profile
Email: r.samsom@auckland.ac.nz

Adam Tobeck - drums
View Adam's profile
Email: adam.tobeck@auckland.ac.nz

Grant Winterburn - piano
Email: TBC

Popular Music

Jessie Booth - guitar
View Jessie's profile
Email: jessie.booth@auckland.ac.nz

Godfrey De Grut - piano
View Godfrey's profile
Email: g.degrut@auckland.ac.nz

Leea Lamatoa - voice
View Leea's profile
Email: leea.lamatoa@auckland.ac.nz

Jessie Leov - keyboards
View Jessie's profile
Email: jessie.leov@auckland.ac.nz

Toni Randle Keegan - vocal
View Toni's profile
Email: toni.randle@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Matthews
View Stephen's profile
Email: 
sr.matthews@auckland.ac.nz

Accompanists

Music Education

Music Production

Music Technology

Musicology