Annual Shakespeare fellow

The annual Dr Alice Griffin Shakespearean Fellowship brings experts in Shakespearean studies to the University of Auckland.

The Dr Alice Griffin Fellowship in Shakespearean Studies was established thanks to the generosity of Mr John Griffin, President of Blue Ridge Capital in New York.

Mr Griffin's donation to the Faculty of Arts established the scholarship in the name of his mother Dr Alice Griffin who held a PhD from Columbia University, served as associate editor and drama critic for Theatre Arts Magazine, and taught modern drama at the City University of New York.

Alice Griffin's ten books on theatre include Living Theater, Understanding Tennessee Williams, Understanding Arthur Miller, and Understanding Lillian Hellman. The latest of her four books on Shakespeare is Shakespeare's Women in Love.

The Dr Alice Griffin Shakespearean Fellowship brings experts in Shakespearean Studies to the University of Auckland and allows Arts students to benefit from their teachings. A public lecture is given by each visiting fellow.

2018 Alice Griffin Fellow: Liam Semler

Liam Semler is Professor of Early Modern Literature at the University of Sydney. He leads the Sydney-based Better Strangers project which is a research and teaching collaboration between academics and schoolteachers that hosts the Shakespeare Reloaded website.

He is a former Chief Examiner for the NSW HSC English Extension examination and his research areas include Shakespeare, modern educational systems and Renaissance literature and visual arts.

Liam is the author of Teaching Shakespeare and Marlowe: Learning vs the System, published in Arden’s Shakespeare Now! series (2013) and The Early Modern Grotesque: English Sources and Documents 1500-1700 (Routledge, 2018).

2018 Alice Griffin Fellow: Deanne Williams

Deanne Williams is Professor of English at York University in Canada and a Fellow of Clare Hall, Cambridge. An award-winning scholar, with especial expertise in the cultures of women and girls in early modern English literature, Professor Williams is the author of The French Fetish from Chaucer to Shakespeare (2004), Shakespeare and the Performance of Girlhood (2014), and numerous essays in journals and collections.

Her published and current research works the earlier end of the early modern period, addressing medieval English literature and the history of the Middle Ages as seedbeds for later writing and cultural developments, such as the girl actor.

A member of the Royal Society of Canada, she was recently awarded a prestigious Killam Fellowship for her work on the girl actor.

Previous fellows

  • Professor Peter Holbrook, 2017
  • Professor Gil Harris and Professor Madhavi Menon, 2016
  • Professor Peter Holland, 2015
  • Dr Emma Smith, 2014
  • Professor Stephen Orgel, 2013
  • Professor Lorna Hutson, 2012
  • Professor John Kerrigan, 2011
  • Professor Tiffany Stern, 2010
  • Professor Gary Taylor, 2009
  • Professor Jean Howard, 2008
  • Professor Adrian Poole, 2007
  • Professor Dympna Callaghan, 2006
  • Professor Andrew Gurr, 2005