Our people

Our team of researchers have experience and expertise in a range of disciplines and social science research methodologies.

Fale Pasifika Complex

COMPASS location

Room 622, Level 6
Owen G Glenn Building
12 Grafton Rd
Auckland

Postal address

COMPASS Research Centre
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland 1142
New Zealand

Our staff

Dr Barry Milne
COMPASS Director
Email: b.milne@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9168

Dr Nichola Shackleton 
COMPASS Deputy Director
Email: n.shackleton@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9894

Roy Lay-Yee
Senior Research Fellow
Email: r.layyee@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5160

Martin von Randow
Data Manager/Analyst
Email: m.vonrandow@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 4499

Stephanie D'Souza
Research Fellow
Email: s.dsouza@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2940

Dr Jinfeng Zhao
Research Fellow
Email: jinfeng.zhao@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5661

Dr Kevin Chang
Statistician
Email: k.chang@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1319

Jessica McLay
Statistician
Email: jessica.mclay@auckland.ac.nz

Eileen Li
Data Analyst
Email: y.li@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2136

Cinnamon Lindsay
Research Associate
Email: c.lindsay@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2843

Olivia Healey
Administrator
Email: o.healey@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2098

Dr Lara Greaves
Research Fellow
Email: lara.greaves@auckland.ac.nz

COMPASS Advisory Board

Chair

Professor Peter Boxall
Business School
Email: p.boxall@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7355

Members

Professor James Curran
Statistics
Email: j.curran@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8755

Professor Chris Bullen
Population Health
Email: c.bullen@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 4730

Dr Marama Muru-Lanning 
James Henare Māori Research Centre
Email: m.murulanning@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5743

Gary Patterson
Faculty of Arts Administration
Email: g.patterson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2438

Professor Jennifer Curtin
Politics and International Relations
Email: j.curtin@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7437

Dr Barry Milne
COMPASS Research Centre
Email: b.milne@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9168

Dr Gerard Cotterell
Faculty of Arts Administration
Email: g.cotterell@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8575

Professor Linda Bryder
Faculty of Arts Administration
Email: l.bryder@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7319

Professor Shaun Hendy
Te Pūnaha Matatini
Email: shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9936

Laura Murray
UniServices
Email: l.murray@auckland.ac.nz