Academic advisers

Our course advisers are available to guide you in making the best decisions for your programme of study.

If you’re unsure of who to approach, the Engineering Student Centre is your first point of contact for all enquiries. You may also contact them via email to be redirected to the appropriate adviser.

Associate Deans


Dr Michael Hodgson
The Associate Dean - Undergraduate provides academic oversight for your BE(Hons) admissions and specialisations. Contact your specialisation's course adviser(s) for any specific information.


For matters on the development and oversight of policies and procedures for our graduate programmes, email our Postgraduate Deans.

Associate Dean - Postgraduate Research
Dr Richard Clarke

Associate Dean - Postgraduate Taught
Dr Gary Miller

Undergraduate course advisers

Biomedical Engineering

Dr Vinod Suresh

Chemical and Materials Engineering:  

Dr Peng Cao
Professor John Chen

Civil and Structural Engineering

Direct entry enquiries (BSc, NZCE, DipEng): Dr Tam Larkin
Part II: Dr Febelyn Reguyal
Part II/III and Part III: Dr Lucas Hogan
Part III/IV and Part IV: Dr Gary Raftery
Conjoint and Exchange Students: Dr Minh Kieu

Computer Systems Engineering

Dr Kevin Wang

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Dr Mark Andrews

Engineering Science

Dr Tony Downward
Conjoint and exchange students: Associate Professor Cameron Walker

Mechanical Engineering

Parts I-IV: Dr Jaspreet Dhupia
Conjoints: Dr Stuart Norris
Exchange students: Dr Vladislav Sorokin

Mechatronics Engineering

Parts I-IV: Dr Yusuke Hioka
Exchange students: Dr Vladislav Sorokin

Software Engineering

Dr Nasser Giacaman

Postgraduate programme advisers

To get advice on course offerings, research projects and potential supervisors, contact a programme advisor.

Chemical and Materials Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Engineering Science

Mechanical Engineering