International Committee

Terms of reference

The International Committee makes recommendations on, co-ordinates and advances the University's policy objectives in:

  • Promoting its international profile
  • The development of and engagement in international alliances and agreements
  • The internationalisation of the curriculum and student campus life
  • Staff and student mobility
  • The recruitment and support of international students
  • International research opportunities and alliances


  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Engagement)  - Chair
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) or nominee, being a member of Research Committee
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) or nominee, being a member of Education Committee
  • International Director
  • Associate Deans (International) or Nominee 
  • Two professorial members elected by the professoriate
  • Two sub-professorial members elected by sub-professorial staff
  • One student representative

International Committee reports to Senate.

Committee members and term of office

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Engagement) Holds office until
Professor J Dixon - Chair Ex-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) or Nominee
Holds office until
Professor C Fouché
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) or Nominee
Holds office until
Professor J Morrow
Director of International Office
Holds office until
Mr B Berquist
Associate Deans (International) or nominee
Holds office until
Arts,  Professor L Simmons
Business and Economics, Mrs S Laurenson (nominee) Ex-officio
Creative Arts and Industries, Associate Professor R McKay Buck(nominee)   Ex-officio
Education, Dr M Tesar Ex-officio
Engineering, Professor P Roop  Ex-officio
Law, Associate Professor C Noonan Ex-officio
Medical and Health Sciences , Mrs K Dorrian (nominee) Ex-officio
Science, Associate Professor S Link Ex-officio
Two Professorial Members Elected by the Professoriate
Holds office until
Professor C Calude
Professor K Elwood 31.01.22
Two Sub-Professorial Members Elected by Sub-Professorial Staff
Holds office until
Associate Professor J McCool
Dr M Webster 31.01.22
One Student Representative
Holds office until
Ms M Khaydar
Co-opted Members
Holds office until
Professor G Brierley
Ms Ainslie Moore

Committee Secretary

Ms Pip Anderson
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84799.

Schedule of meetings

14.10.2020 9.00am