Writers in residence

The University Of Auckland Residencies enable up to four writers each year to work on creative projects and interact with our students.

We work in partnership with the Michael King Writers Centre and Creative New Zealand to host these residencies. Each residency includes accommodation in a historic villa in Devonport, a financial stipend and other benefits, along with an opportunity to contribute to teaching and mentoring within the School of Humanities.

2020 University of Auckland residencies

Applications for residencies in 2020 have now closed.

Previous writers in residence

  • Gary Henderson, Emma Neale, Jo Randerson, Joanne Drayton, 2019
  • Victor Rodger, 2018
  • Frankie McMillan,  2017
  • Vivienne Plumb, 2016
  • Rochelle Bright, 2015
  • Anne Kennedy, 2014
  • Sarah Laing, 2013
  • Eleanor Catton, 2012
  • Michelanne Forster, 2011
  • Bill Direen, 2010
  • Ian Wedde, 2009
  • Chris Price, 2008
  • Dylan Horrocks, 2007