The Student Development and Engagement team

The Student Development and Engagement team provides support to help our students have the best possible experience at the University.

We support our diverse range of engineering students – under-represented groups at University, students transitioning into tertiary study, and more – from Orientation through to employment. Our team can also act as a central point for help if you’re struggling, stressed, or have experienced a traumatic event that will have impact on your study. Students are welcome to drop by and see us on Level 4, 20 Symonds Street, or reach us via email at foe-engagement@auckland.ac.nz.

The Student Development and Engagement team also works closely with our faculty’s student clubs to help provide engineering students with social, professional and academic opportunities, and can also link you to support services such as counselling, financial assistance, mentoring, and childcare.

We are also responsible for initiatives such as Orientation, the Part I Assistance Centre, Women in Engineering Network (WEN), Tuākana for Māori and Pacific students, the Rainbow Engineering Network, information evenings with prospective employers, and the Postgraduate Buddy programme.

Our team

Jonathan Culley | Student Development and Engagement Manager | j.culley@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 9521
Jon manages student development, engagement, support and retention initiatives to enhance students' experience.

Alcione Fagundes | Student Development and Engagement Team Leader | a.fagundes@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2990
Alcíone works closely with the Student Experience Advisers and Student Support Advisers to support undergraduate and postgraduate students, and provide development opportunities for all students.

Courtney King | Employer Liaison Manager | Courtney.king@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 4866
Courtney facilitates employer networking and fosters industry relationships, along with graduate and intern recruitment. She also provides advice and support to students on career options.

Kelly Moodie | Women in Engineering Adviser | k.moodie@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6773
Kelly is focused on the participation, retention and success of female engineering students. She works closely with the Women in Engineering Network, and engages with schools to raise the profile of Engineering as a career choice for girls.

Jane Williams | Student Support Adviser | jane.williams@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 4384
Jane supports all engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. She is also the primary Student Support Adviser for international students.

Meleane Akauola | Student Support Adviser | m.akauola@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5107
Mele supports all students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. She is the primary Student Support Adviser for Māori and Pacific students.

Caitlin Scragg | Student Support Adviser | c.scragg@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 4866
Caitlin supports all Engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. She also coordinates our Part II Academic Assistance Centres.

Joanna Luo | Student Experience Adviser | joanna.luo@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2234
Joanna provides a range of development and engagement activities for postgraduate students. She also works closely with Campus Life and the faculty’s student clubs.

Natasha Morsch | Student Experience Adviser | natasha.morsch@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8960
Natasha provides a range of development, transition and engagement activities for all students. She works closely with Campus Life and the faculty’s student clubs.

Ashleigh Fox | Project Manager, Women in Engineering | a.fox@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5922
Manages a project in the Faculty of Engineering to encourage more women into STEM, and inspire them to consider Engineering as a career path.

Quang Le | Student Support Adviser | quang.minh.le@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 2927
Supports all engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. He is also the primary Student Support Adviser for equity students.