The Student Development and Engagement team

The Student Development and Engagement team provides support to help our students have the best possible experience at the University.

We support our diverse range of engineering students – under-represented groups at University, students transitioning into tertiary study, and more – from Orientation through to employment. Our team can also act as a central point for help if you’re struggling, stressed, or have experienced a traumatic event that will have impact on your study. Students are welcome to drop by and see us on Level 4, 20 Symonds Street, or reach us via email at foe-engagement@auckland.ac.nz.

The Student Development and Engagement team also works closely with our faculty’s student clubs to help provide engineering students with social, professional and academic opportunities, and can also link you to support services such as counselling, financial assistance, mentoring, and childcare.

We are also responsible for initiatives such as Orientation, the Part I Assistance Centre, Women in Engineering Network (WEN), Tuākana for Māori and Pacific students, the Rainbow Engineering Network, information evenings with prospective employers, and the Postgraduate Buddy programme.

Our team

Jonathan Culley | Student Development and Engagement Manager | j.culley@auckland.ac.nz
Jonathan manages development, engagement, support and retention initiatives to enhance students’ experience.

Alcione Fagundes | Student Development and Engagement Team Leader | a.fagundes@auckland.ac.nz
Alcione works closely with the Student Experience Advisers and Student Support Advisers to support undergraduate and postgraduate students, and provide development opportunities for all students.

Courtney King | Employer Liaison Manager| Courtney.king@auckland.ac.nz
Courtney facilitates employer networking and fosters industry relationships, along with graduate and intern recruitment. She also provides advice and support to students on career options.

Kelly Moodie | Women in Engineering Adviser | k.moodie@auckland.ac.nz
Kelly supports WEN, as well as provides advice and support strategies for Women in Engineering.

Meleane Akauola | Student Support Adviser | m.akauola@auckland.ac.nz
Meleane supports all engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. She is also the primary Student Support Adviser for international students.

Caitlin Scragg | Student Support Adviser | c.scragg@auckland.ac.nz
Caitlin supports all engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. She also coordinates our Part II Academic Assistance Centres.

Joanna Luo | Student Experience Adviser | joanna.luo@auckland.ac.nz
Joanna provides a range of development, transition and engagement activities for all students. She works closely with Campus Life and the faculty’s student clubs.

Cade Norton | Student Experience Adviser | c.norton@auckland.ac.nz
Cade provides a range of development, transition and engagement activities for all students.

Ashleigh Fox | Project Manager, WIE33 Project | a.fox@auckland.ac.nz
Ashleigh manages our WIE33 project, designed to increase the representation of undergraduate engineering students.

Quang Le | Student Support Adviser | quang.minh.le@auckland.ac.nz
Quang supports all engineering students with their wellbeing, pastoral care and learning support. He also coordinates our Part I Academic Assistance Centre.