Leadership team

Find out more about who runs ABI, including details about the Director, Deputy Director, Principal Investigator Group, budget-monitoring and administrative staff.

Director

Distinguished Professor Peter Hunter is the Director of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute. He is responsible for academic, administrative and strategic leadership.

Peter also sits on the University's Senior Management Team (SMT), which is an advisory group to the Vice-Chancellor.

Learn more: Dist. Prof. Peter Hunter.

Deputy Director

Professor Merryn Tawhai is the Deputy Director. She’s responsible for assisting and advising the Director, as well as providing the Principal Investigators group with direction and guidance on administrative and research policy.

Find out more: Professor Merryn Tawhai.

Principal Investigators Group

This is the academic and administrative decision-making body for the Institute.

The Principal Investigators are Institute and Institute-linked academics who lead research projects by raising grant money, supervising graduate students and generally contribute to Institute infrastructure.

You can find information and contact details about members of the group by searching our staff directory.

Discover more: Staff directory.

Professors

  • Peter Hunter 
  • Poul Nielsen
  • Leo Cheng
  • Simon Malpas
  • Martyn Nash
  • Merryn Tawhai
  • Bruce Smaill
  • Alistair Young

Associate Professors

  • Ian LeGrice
  • Andrew Taberner
  • Mark Sagar
  • Iain Anderson
  • Thor Besier
  • David Budgett

Senior Research Fellows & Research Fellows also regularly attend. 

Admin managers

Institute Operations Manager

Nina Pettersson-Fox
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3836
Email: n.pettersson-fox@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Nina Pettersson-Fox

Research Programme Manager

Kristen Chalmet
Email: kristen.chalmet@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (9) 923 4688
Directory information: Kristen Chalmet

Research Operations Manager

Natalie Solomona
Email:
n.solomona@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6556
Directory information: Mrs Natalie Solomona

ABI Development Manager

Dr Nicole Bassett
Mobile: 021 2462801
Email: n.bassett@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Dr Nicole Bassett

Business Development Manager - Strategic Growth

Dr Pau Medrano-Gracia
Phone:
 +64 (0) 9 923 6908
Email: p.medrano@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Dr Pau Medrano-Gracia

IT Manager

Matt Wilson

Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2165
Email:
 matt.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Matt Wilson

Finance Manager

Maria Fung

Email: m.fung@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Ms Maria Fung

Technical Manager

Stephen Olding

Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5808
Email:
s.olding@auckland.ac.nz
Directory information: Stephen Olding

General enquiries

Email: bioeng-enquiries@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 3175 or 923 6369