Partners and collaborators

Links with partners within and outside the University guarantee the Energy Centre can further tap into information, knowledge and expertise from all disciplines related to the energy sector.

Research collaborators

To be able to work as a "valuable and intellectually powerful contributor" to the energy debate in New Zealand, the Energy Centre is continually expanding its partnerships and cooperation. Within the Business School the Centre is closely aligned with the Department of Economics.

Within the wider University of Auckland, the present main partnerships are with:

  • Business School
  • Faculty of Engineering 
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Geothermal Institute  

The Centre has ongoing relationships with other organisations in New Zealand including:

  • Auckland Council
  • Auckland Transport
  • BusinessNZ Council
  • Electricity Authority
  • Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA)
  • GNS Science
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation and Education
  • New Zealand Steel
  • New Zealand Transport Association
  • New Zealand Wind Energy Association
  • NZ Institute of Economic Research Inc.
  • Productivity Commission
  • Scion Research
  • Solarcity
  • Sustainable Business Network
  • Transpower
  • Trustpower
  • Vector

Global organisations:


  • Aalto University, Finland
  • Cambridge University, UK
  • Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Energy Policy Research Group, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Fondation Jean-Jacques Laffont, Toulouse Sciences Economiques, France
  • Fondazione Enl Enrico Mattei, Milan, Italy
  • Imperial College, London, UK
  • Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Technische Universitat, Dresden, Germany
  • The Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), Switzerland
  • University College London, UK
  • Vienna University, Austria


  • Centro de Engergia, Universidad of Chile, Santiago, Chile
  • Cornell Institute of Business & Technology, USA
  • Federal Universityof of Minas Gerais, Minas Gerais, Basil
  • John Hopkins University, Maryland, USA
  • University of Alberta, Alberta, Canada
  • Penn State University, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Purdue University, Indiana, USA
  • Queens University, Kingston, Canada
  • Stanford University, California, USA
  • University of Colorado, USA
  • University of Massachusetts, USA
  • University of Southern California, USA
  • University of Texas, USA
  • University of Wisconsin, USA
  • Utah State University, USA
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
  • York University, Toronto, Canada


  • Beihang University, Beijing, China
  • Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • China University of Geosciences, Wuhan, China
  • Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Canberra, Australia
  • Energy Research Institute Network (ERIN), Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Hunan University, Changsha, China
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Korea Energy Economics Institute, Seongan-dong, Korea
  • Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Liverpool Xi'an Jiatong University, Suzhou, China
  • Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Shanghai University, Shanghai, China
  • The Institute of Energy Economics (IEEJ), Tokyo, Japan
  • The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
  • Tianjin University, Tianjan, China
  • University of Newcastle, Newcastle, Australia
  • University of Wollongong, Woollongong, Australia
  • Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia

Middle East:

  • Ajman University, Ajman, United Arab Emerates

Funding partners

The Energy Centre is funded through the generous donations of individuals and corporations, whose contributions support the Centre and its PhD and post-doctoral students.

Current partners are: