Meet our Energy Centre members and learn more about their research from their staff profiles.

Research centre members

Dr Lingli Qi

Lingli holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Auckland for which she carried out environmental impact assessments, based on the principles of economics and environmental science and climate change-related policies using dynamic computable general equilibrium models.

Her current research includes assessing the effects of the carbon emission trading market and carbon tax, forestry sequestration, and renewable energy. In addition, she is also concentrating on developing the New Zealand Integrated Energy System Model to analyse green hydrogen energy in New Zealand.

Dr Erwann Sbai 

Erwann holds a PhD in Economics (University of Toulouse, 2003). His main research interests are in the field of econometrics, in particular developing models for estimating empirical game models. One example can be to empirically characterise generators strategic behaviour in New Zealand electricity wholesale market. Erwann is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Economics where he started employed in 2004.

View Erwann Sbai's profile

Dr Selena Sheng 

Selena holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Auckland. She comes with expertise in applied economics/econometrics, and advanced data analysis especially in the field of transport economics. Before joining the Energy Centre, she was one of the lecturing team members for CIVIL770 at the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering​. Her current research focuses on intelligent transport systems, road safety issues and spatial econometrics.

View Selena Sheng's profile

Dr Bart van Campen 

Bart has a background in electrical engineering (MSc - Eindhoven University of Technology) and public administration (MA - Erasmus University Rotterdam and Université Catholique de Louvain) and more than 10 years of work experience in the energy sector: working for the United Nations in Latin America and Italy on small-scale renewable (hydro and solar) projects and policies; as well as in the private sector in the Netherlands and Germany as a consulting engineer. His research includes the impact of distributed generation, integration of renewables, smart metering and demand side response.

View Bart van Campen's profile

Dr Le Wen 

Le holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Auckland. She comes with expertise in theoretical and applied economics, econometrics, and advanced data analysis. Before joining the Energy Centre, she lectured resource economics in the Economics Department in AUT. Her current research interest includes the impact of wind power on electricity price.

View Le Wen's profile   

Dr Zeya Zhang 

Zeya holds a PhD in Agricultural Economics from Virginia Tech. His main research interests are in the field of development economics with a focus on Sub-Saharan African (SSA) countries and environmental economics with a focus on agricultural policy in United States. His current research interest includes the energy hardships and electricity demand in New Zealand.

View Zeya Zhang's profile

PhD students

Simon Tao gained his MPhil degree at the Universiti Malaya. His research focus is on energy economics, environmental economics, applied econometrics. His PhD topic is New Zealand carbon trading pilot towards 2050 net-zero target. His research has been published in top-tier journals, and he is currently supervised by Associate Professor Stephen Poletti, Dr Le Wen, and Dr Selena Sheng as the Research Assistant in the Energy Centre.

External research associates

  • Dr Anna Berka, Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand
  • Dr Bobby Du, University of Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
  • Assoc. Professor Ali Ghaffarian, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
  • Professor Nadia Gkritza, Purdue University, Indiana, United States
  • Professor Richard Green, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Fengtao Guang, North China Electric Power University, Beijing, China
  • Yishuai Ren, Hunan University, China
  • Dr Milan Ščasný, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Dr Iain Staffell, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Professor Julian Wright, National University of Singapore
  • Professor Ming Yi, China University of Geosciences, Wuhan, China
  • Mingbo Zhen, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Shaanxi, China