Equity committee

Meet the people working behind the scenes to make our faculty a more equitable place.

The Equity Committee of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences works to:

  • Ensure that our faculty is a fair and inclusive place to work and study
  • Develop, promote and monitor strategies within our faculty and the wider University community to provide equal opportunities for staff and students
  • Build work and study environments where everyone has a chance to reach their potential
  • Celebrate diversity within our faculty

Meet the committee

Chair

Associate Professor Trecia Wouldes
Associate Dean (Equity)
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6221
Email: t.wouldes@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the combined voices of our Equity Committee to the University-wide Equity Community.

Members

Satya Amirapu
Histology Technician
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6071
Email: s.amirapu@auckland.ac.nz

I represent professional staff at the School of Medical Sciences.

Trudi Aspden
Lecturer
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3893
Email: t.aspden@auckland.ac.nz

I am the Equity representative for the School of Pharmacy. I am a parent of teenagers and have teaching, service and research interests that have a focus on equitable outcomes in tertiary teaching and health.

Dr Joanna Black
Lecturer
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2405
Email: j.black@auckland.ac.nz

I am the School of Optometry and Vision Science representative on the Equity Committee. I am a parent of pre-schoolers and an academic.  

Warren Burt
Facilities and Services Manager
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 1607
Email: w.burt@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the faculty's Health, Safety and Wellbeing Committee.

Dr Elana Curtis
Associate Professor
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6470
Email: e.curtis@auckland.ac.nz

Kia ora. Ko Ngāti Rongomai rāua ko Ngāti Pikiao ōku hapū. Ko Te Arawa te iwi. Tihei Mauriora.

My name is AP Elana Taipapaki Curtis. I represent the Vision 20:20 initiative and Te Kupenga Hauora Māori on the FMHS Equity Committee. This covers Māori and Pacific student admission, bridging/foundation education and retention initiatives within the faculty.

Assoc Professor Bridget Kool
Associate Dean
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3871
Email: b.kool@auckland.ac.nz

I am the Associate Dean (Academic) for the FMHS and have responsibility for ensuring the quality of teaching and learning in the Faculty. A key component of this is to ensure equitable access to our programmes and the provision of a fair and inclusive place for our students to study.

Yu-Shu Hwang
Academic Services Analyst
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8993
Email: y.hwang@auckland.ac.nz

I am the Academic Services Analyst. While provide reporting for the Equity Committee, I only attend meetings as required.

Peggy McQuinn
Group Services Manager
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6721
Email: p.mcquinn@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the School of Population Health.

Ruth Monk
Doctoral Candidate - Doctor of Philosophy
Phone: +64 (0) 9 373 7599
Email: r.monk@auckland.ac.nz

I am the equity committee representative from the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Postgraduate Students’ Association (FMHS PGSA). I am also an advocate for Women in Science, the Rainbow network, and students and staff with disabilities.

Professor Phillippa Poole
Head of Department
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6440
Email: p.poole@auckland.ac.nz

I am Head of the Department of Medicine and a general physician at Auckland City Hospital. I am passionately interested in developing a suitably diverse health workforce for Aotearoa New Zealand. I have published extensively on this topic, particularly on women in medicine.

Dr Kate Prebble
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3413
Email: k.prebble@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the School of Nursing. My background is in mental health nursing and I have a commitment to social justice issues in health and education. I identify as lesbian and live with my long-term partner (and cat!).

Dr Ilva Rupenthal
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6386
Email: i.rupenthal@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the School of Medicine.

Dr Gerhard Sundborn
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 9205
Email: g.sundborn@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the Section of Pacific Health.