Equity committee

Meet the people working behind the scenes to make our faculty a more equitable place.

The Equity Committee of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences works to:

  • Ensure that our faculty is a fair and inclusive place to work and study
  • Develop, promote and monitor strategies within our faculty and the wider University community to provide equal opportunities for staff and students
  • Build work and study environments where everyone has a chance to reach their potential
  • Celebrate diversity within our faculty

Meet the committee

Chair

Associate Professor Trecia Wouldes
Associate Dean (Equity)
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6221
Email: t.wouldes@auckland.ac.nz

I represent the combined voices of our Equity Committee to the University-wide Equity Community.

Members

Dr Jacqueline Hannam
School of Medical Sciences professional staff representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2869
Email: j.hannam@auckland.ac.nz

Trudi Aspden
School of Pharmacy joint-representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3893
Email: t.aspden@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Manisha Sharma
School of Pharmacy joint-representative
Phone:
+64 (0) 9 923 1830
Email: manisha.sharma@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Joanna Black
School of Optometry and Vision Science representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2405
Email: j.black@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Elana Curtis
Vision 20:20 initiative and Te Kupenga Hauora Māori (TKHM) representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6470
Email: e.curtis@auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Bridget Kool
Associate Dean (Academic)
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3871
Email: b.kool@auckland.ac.nz

Yu-Shu Hwang
Committee reporting provider
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8993
Email: y.hwang@auckland.ac.nz

Peggy McQuinn
School of Population Health representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6721
Email: p.mcquinn@auckland.ac.nz

Ruth Monk
Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Postgraduate Students’ Association (FMHS PGSA) representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 373 7599
Email: r.monk@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Phillippa Poole
Department of Medicine representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6440
Email: p.poole@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Willem Fourie
School of Nursing representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3470
Emailw.fourie@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Ilva Rupenthal
School of Medicine representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6386
Email: i.rupenthal@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Gerhard Sundborn
Section of Pacific Health representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 9205
Email: g.sundborn@auckland.ac.nz

Mel Cross
Student Services joint-representative
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6516
Email: mel.cross@auckland.ac.nz

Ann-Marie Higgins
Student Services joint-representative
Email: ann-marie.higgins@auckland.ac.nz