Staff awards

The faculty offers a selection of awards to support our academic and professional staff in achieving their personal and professional development goals.

The mission of the University of Auckland includes a commitment to excellence in teaching, which the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences recognises through our offering of annual academic staff awards.

The Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences also offers awards to general staff to recognise excellence in managerial, administrative and/or technical activities. Up to four awards are available annually, two for sustained excellence and two for special achievement.

Making nominations

Past and present students are able to make nominations for the following awards for academic staff. Nominations for the 2018 FMHS Butland Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Dennis Pickup Clinical Educator Awards are now closed and winners were awarded in July.

Call for nominations for the 2019 awards will open early 2019.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 teaching awards

Butland Teaching Awards

Early Career Excellence in Teaching: Teri Ko, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori

Excellence in Research Supervision: Associate Professor Vili Nosa, Pacific Health, School of Population Health

Innovation in Teaching: Anuj Bhargava, Physiology, School of Medical Sciences

Sustained Teaching Excellence: Dr Monique Jonas, Health Systems, School of Population Health

Leadership in Teaching: Associate Professor Claire Wall, Discipline of Nutrition and Dietetics, School of Medical Sciences and Dr Rhys Jones, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori

Dennis Pickup Clinical Educator Awards

Dr Alexandra Wallace, Medicine, School of Medicine

Dr Rachel Thomson, General Practice & Primary Health Care, School of Medicine and School of Population Health

Natalie Anderson, School of Nursing

For more information about previous recipients, or to make a nomination for a different award (staff only), please visit the staff intranet.


Mrs Liai Burns
Executive Assistant
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2402