Teaching awards

We are committed to excellence in teaching, and recognise this through our offering of annual academic staff awards.

Making nominations

Past and present students are able to make nominations for the following awards for academic staff.

Call for nominations for the 2019 awards is now open. Please submit applications to assistant-assocdeans@auckland.ac.nz by midnight on Sunday 26 May 2019.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 teaching awards

Butland Teaching Awards

Early Career Excellence in Teaching: Teri Ko, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori

Excellence in Research Supervision: Associate Professor Vili Nosa, Pacific Health, School of Population Health

Innovation in Teaching: Anuj Bhargava, Physiology, School of Medical Sciences

Sustained Teaching Excellence: Dr Monique Jonas, Health Systems, School of Population Health

Leadership in Teaching: Associate Professor Claire Wall, Discipline of Nutrition and Dietetics, School of Medical Sciences and Dr Rhys Jones, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori

Dennis Pickup Clinical Educator Awards

Dr Alexandra Wallace, Medicine, School of Medicine

Dr Rachel Thomson, General Practice & Primary Health Care, School of Medicine and School of Population Health

Natalie Anderson, School of Nursing

For more information about previous recipients, or to make a nomination for a different award (staff only), please visit the staff intranet.


Yvonne Chan
Executive Assistant
Email: y.chan@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2402