Professional staff awards

The Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences offers awards to professional staff to recognise excellence in managerial, administrative and/or technical activities. Up to four awards are available annually, two for sustained excellence and two for special achievement.


The 2021 awards will take place mid-late November.

Nominations are now open, and must be submitted by Friday 29 October.

If you have any issues with submitting online, then please sign a hard copy, scan and email to

For other queries, email:

Lynda Fairweather - Executive Assistant
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6222

About the awards

The FMHS professional staff awards provide an avenue for the faculty to acknowledge and reward professional staff who have made a valuable contribution to the faculty. The awards recognise excellence in managerial, administrative and/or technical activities, and can be awarded to individuals or teams. Up to four awards are available annually, two for sustained excellence and two for special achievement.

Ian Houston Award for Sustained Excellence
This award acknowledges continuous outstanding effort by an individual or team in the performance of duties over multiple years in support of the faculty’s mission. Awards will be given to nominees who have clearly demonstrated sustained excellent service, and have demonstrated the faculty’s values of excellence, innovation, partnership, professionalism, equity and integrity. Up to two awards are available in this category annually.

Special Achievement Award
This award acknowledges a significant, specific contribution by an individual or team. Nominees should have provided extraordinary service beyond their basic job description, towards a single event, project, innovation or idea that supports the faculty’s mission. The contribution may be to their immediate work unit, department, school or the faculty. Examples may include, but are not limited to, the following: the development of a major initiative, the design/development of an innovative system or process, organising a major conference or symposium, the successful management/ implementation of a large project. Up to two awards are available in this category annually.

All professional staff employed by the University, and working in the faculty, irrespective of their method of funding, are eligible to be nominated. Nominees must not have won an award in the same category in the past three years, unless they have previously received the award as an individual and are now being nominated as part of a team (or vice versa) . Nominees for the award of the Ian Houston Award for Sustained Excellence must have been employed by the University for at least three years, with a minimum of two years of service to have been in the faculty.

Recipients of an award will receive:

  • A certificate and award
  • Their name on a perpetual plaque housed in the faculty, and listed on the faculty’s website
  • $2500 as a grant to be used at the recipient’s discretion for the purpose of professional development, travel for professional development purposes, the purchase of books or equipment, or with the approval of their manager and the director of operations, as a taxable prize.

In the case of an award being made to a team, the monetary award will be divided evenly between the members.

Progression to Vice Chancellor’s Professional Staff Excellence Awards
Nomination for or winning an FMHS professional staff award does not automatically lead to faculty nomination for the Vice Chancellor’s Professional Staff Excellence Awards, as the guidelines differ. However, nominations that most strongly meet the university award criteria in each category will be identified by the FMHS Selection Committee and offered support to pursue a nomination at university level once the format of the 2021 awards are released.

Awards Subcommittee
The Dean of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences will make the awards on the advice of a Subcommittee, including the Director of Faculty Operations (Chair), the Dean or nominee, the University of Auckland Deputy Vice Chancellor (Operations) and Registrar, a senior professional staff member from FMHS and a previous recipient of the award.

Method of nomination
See above under ‘2021’

2020 Award Winners

2020 Ian Houston Award for Sustained Excellence in Job Performance

Debbie Beaumont - Group Services Coordinator, School of Medicine

Peggy McQuinn - Group Services Manager, School of Population Health

2020 Special Achievement Award

Covid-19 Testing & Support Team: Abdul Al Raied, Stephen Bensley, Chandrakanth Bhoothpur, Fiona Clow, Jason Copedo, Marie Drury, Sandra Fitzgerald, Tony Frugier, Pascalene Houseman, Karen Liu, Charney Marais, Alice Moran, Rachna Patel, Tamsin Robb, Alice Rykers, Phillip Shepherd, Celestine Wong

FMHS Admissions Team: Mel Cross, Anne Keall, Kimberley Weston, Seini Revell

Vernon Jansen Unit Team: Rebecca Boyd, Andrew Brown, Peter Cross, Madison Garnett, Laura Gilberd, Vanessa Hawkins, Amy Hesse, Hartley Holder, Leane Holyoak, Melanie Hyslop, Kelly Netzler, Kelly Petterken, Maree Schollum, Louis Tessier-Varlet, Maria Wiffen, Tingli (Tim) Yang

Faculty and Institute Research Services Team (FIRST): Barbara-Ann Bradley, Louise Brand, Bianca Brown, Kelly Diep, Kira Finucane, Denise Greenwood, Prabha Hariswamy, Meaghan House, Filomena Jennings, Katie Jones, Jing Liu, Cecilia Lourdes, Shireen Nanayakkara, Penny Neave, Sue Raynel, Heather Seal, Tony Sriamporn, Elena Tang, Harshitha Vijaykumar, Debbie Waayer, Michele Williams, Ruth Wilson, Marvin Wu, Lilly Yu