Gluckman Medal

The Peter Gluckman Medal for Distinguished Contribution to Research is the premier recognition of research within the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. It consists of a unique, engraved medal cast in bronze and a distinguished international lecture.

The purpose of the medal and lecture is to recognise distinguished contributions of current and former staff or students of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. An additional purpose of the award is to stimulate an awareness of the breadth of research activity within the faculty. The awardee will receive the Gluckman Medal, and be invited to deliver a lecture to the faculty.

How to apply

  • Nominations, including self-nominations, are open for 2022. The award is open to all current members of the Faculty and the Liggins Institute. Nominations of past members of staff, or students may also be considered.
  • Applications should be in the form of an electronic letter addressed to the Deputy Dean. This should include a brief (less than one page) outline of the grounds for the nomination and the nominee’s CV should be attached.
  • Resubmission of previous nominations is welcomed, with appropriate updating of the nomination statement and CV. The closing date for nominations is 29 July 2022.
  • A reviewing committee of senior academic staff will assess the nominee's contribution to their field of endeavour and to the faculty.
  • Please submit your nominations by the closing date to Salome Schlebusch (


Associate Professor Matire Harwood
Deputy Dean

Previous winners of the Gluckman Medal

Year Recipient Department
2022 Professor Mike Dragunow Department of Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacology
2021 Professor Boyd Swinburn Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
2020 Professor Nicola Dalbeth
Department of Medicine
2019 Professor Wayne Cutfield Liggins Institute
2018 Professor Lesley McCowan Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
2017 Professor Peter Thorne Department of Audiology, Department of Physiology
2016 Professor Andrew Hill
Department of Surgery
2015 Professor Alistair Gunn Department of Physiology
2014 Professor Jane Harding Liggins Institute
2013 Professor Alan Merry Department of Anaesthesiology
2012 Professor John Windsor Department of Surgery
2011 Professor John Shaw School of Pharmacy
2010 Professor Keith Petrie Department of Psychological Medicine
2009 Professor Rod Jackson Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
2008 Professor Charles McGhee Department of Ophthalmology
2007 Professor Ian Reid Department of Medicine
2006 Professors Bill Denny and Bruce Baguley Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre