Postgraduate study in Clinical Endocrinology

With the University of Auckland ranked number one in the global University Impact Rankings, there’s never been a better time to pursue postgraduate study in clinical endocrinology right here in Aotearoa.


Nutrition, preterm birth, in vitro fertilisation and exercise all have an impact on health in later life, and can influence the development of obesity, diabetes, metabolic and cardiovascular diseases. Take part in this research and you could explore the factors that influence these childhood and adult outcomes, and investigate the molecular and epigenetic mechanisms that drive the changes. Get involved with groundbreaking clinical trials that will help to develop targeted interventions to prevent or minimise adverse effects on health in later life – for example by altering the microbiome.


  • Professor Wayne Cutfield (Gut microbiome in health and disease including treatment studies. Childhood obesity determinants and treatments. The early origins of obesity and metabolism)
    Professor Wayne Cutfield's publications
  • Professor Paul Hofman (metabolic and growth effects of prematurity, SGA & assisted reproduction; exercise in pregnancy; diabetes)

Projects available

Masters and doctoral projects are available to explore the following questions:

  • Physical activity in New Zealand children with a disability (Prof Paul Hofman)
  • Epigenetic effects of fish oil in overweight pregnancy
    (Dr Ben Albert)
  • Maternal fish oil effect on infant microbiome (Dr Ben Albert)
  • The gut microbiome in childhood health and disease (Prof Wayne Cutfield)
  • Longitudinal devlopment of childhood growth, adiposity and metabolism (Prof Wayne Cutfield)

You can get a scholarship to assist with your study. See what’s on offer for Liggins Institute students.

Are you an undergraduate student interested in research? Check the Honours projects available at the Liggins Institute.

How to apply

Contact the team to find out more about the projects on offer or to apply.

Professor Wayne Cutfield
Professor Paul Hofman
Dr Ben Albert