Meet our Associate Deans

Our Associate Deans are hard at work overseeing the different areas of our faculty.

Professor Alan Merry

Deputy Dean
Phone: +64 9 923 5751

Formerly the Head of the School of Medicine, Professor Alan Merry is the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. His research areas include anaesthesia and chronic pain management.

Professor Papaarangi Reid

Tumuaki, Deputy Dean (Māori)
Phone: +64 9 923 1922

Papaarangi Reid is Tumuaki and Head of Department of Māori Health at the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. She holds science and medical degrees from the University of Auckland and is a specialist in public health medicine. She has tribal affiliations to Te Rarawa in the Far North of Aotearoa and her research interests include analysing disparities between indigenous and non-indigenous citizens as a means of monitoring government commitment to indigenous rights.

Associate Professor Bridget Kool

Associate Dean - Academic
Phone: +64 9 923 3871

Teaching and learning in the faculty is overseen by the Associate Dean (Academic), Associate Professor Bridget Kool. Associate Professor Kool also chairs the faculty's Education Committee which functions to maintain and improve the quality of teaching and learning within the faculty.

Professor Andrew Shelling

Associate Dean - Research, PBRF
Phone: +64 9 923 3504

Research in the faculty is overseen by the Associate Dean (Research), Professor Andrew Shelling. Professor Shelling chairs the Faculty Research Committee which helps to provide strategic direction for the development, coordination and promotion of the faculty’s research whilst coordinating the implementation of the faculty’s research strategies. Professor Shelling is also Associate Dean (PBRF) for the 2018 Performance-Based Research Fund round.

Professor Trevor Sherwin

Associate Dean - Postgraduate
Phone: +64 9 923 6748

Postgraduate students are overseen by Associate Dean (Postgraduate), Professor Trevor Sherwin. Trevor also strives to maintain excellence in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and focuses on the achievements of his research students who have gained high honours including ‘Best PhD thesis from the Faculty of Medical and Health Science’, ‘Vice-Chancellor’s Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis’, ‘Wallath Prize for Biomedical Science’, ‘HRC Career Development Award’ and the ‘Phyllis Paykel Memorial Scholarship’.

Associate Professor Trecia Wouldes

Associate Dean - Equity
Phone: +64 9 923 6221

All matters of equity fall under the responsibility of the Associate Dean (Equity), Trecia Wouldes. Assocaite Professor Trecia Wouldes is a developmental psychologist and Associate Professor in the Department of Psychological Medicine in the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. She is also a member of the Executive Board of the Werry Centre for Child and Adolescent Mental Health.

Professor Des Gorman

Associate Dean (Health Workforce)
Phone: +64 9 923 2716

Professor Des Gorman is the Associate Dean responsible for the Health Workforce.

Professor Martin Connolly

Assistant Dean (Waitemata)
Phone: +64 9 442 7146

Professor Martin Connolly is the first Assistant Dean appointed for Waitemata Clinical Campus. His key role is to continue the relationship between the faculty and the Waitemata District Health Board.

Professor Andrew Hill

Assistant Dean, South Auckland

Andrew is Head of the South Auckland Clinical Campus and has been very involved in establishing and developing the faculty’s relationship with Counties Manukau DHB’s Ko Awatea educational facility at Middlemore Hospital.

Associate Professor Michael Jameson

Assistant Dean, Waikato

Michael Jameson is based in the Waikato Hospital in Hamilton and is the Assistant Dean who oversees the Waikato Clinical School.