About the school

The School of Medicine is one of the six schools within the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences.

The hub is based at Grafton Campus with other clinical campuses in South Auckland, Waitematā, Waikato and Tauranga. In addition, there are clinical sites in Northland, Whakatāne, Rotorua, Taranaki and Hawera.  

Our school is comprised of eight academic departments:

  • Anaesthesiology
  • Centre for Medical and Health Sciences Education
  • Medicine
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Paediatrics: Child and Youth Health
  • Psychological Medicine
  • Surgery


A key priority for the School of Medicine is the provision of clinical undergraduate training for almost half of New Zealand’s medical students, as well as postgraduate training for a range of health care workers. We have large and successful research programmes and a strong record of postgraduate research supervision. Many of the our academics contribute to New Zealand’s health outcomes through both direct clinical service and service on many national and international organisations related to health care, including specialist colleges and government agencies.

Our school has a strong focus to build the Māori and Pacific workforce. The interprofessional opportunities within the faculty are one of our great strengths and we are committed to working with the wider faculty and external providers in advancing this objective.  


We strive for excellence by teaching New Zealand's future doctors  through the delivery of the medical programme and by contributing to teaching other health professionals, mainly through the interprofessional aspects of our activities.

We have very ambitious staff and colleagues who are well known in research both locally and internationally. This empowers our students and early stage researchers to help develop and shape health outcomes.

There is a strong commitment by staff in our to conduct research that will reduce health inequalities in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Core activities

The School of Medicine coordinates staff and resources within the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences to:

  • Deliver the undergraduate medical programme
  • Facilitate and encourage clinical and applied research in clinical departments
  • Develop and deliver postgraduate programmes in clinical areas covered by the school
  • Work in partnership with the School of Medical Sciences, School of Population Health and Medical Programme Directorate to deliver the medical programme