Equity Committee

Meet our Faculty of Science Equity Committee (FoSEC) members, and access minutes and other documents.

Our vision

The Faculty of Science Equity Committee (FoSEC) works towards an inclusive and diverse faculty, where:

  • Staff and students from all backgrounds are valued, supported, and have real and meaningful opportunities for participation and success, without the operation of implicit or explicit bias which can result in discrimination.
  • Māori as tangata whenua, and members of equity groups, are fully represented across students and staff, and have access to environments and resources that will help them to flourish.

The FoSEC facilitates achievement of this vision through the development of initiatives to explore and support equity, diversity and inclusivity considerations, the implementation of policy and practice, and the monitoring and reporting of progress towards the achievement of this vision.

Minutes and documents

Access meeting minutes and other documents on our staff intranet page.

Committee Chair

Associate Professor Frederique Vanholsbeeck

Associate Dean, Diversity and Inclusivity
Phone: +64 9 923 8881
Email: f.vanholsbeeck@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Associate Professor Vanholsbeeck's profile

Committee members

Miss Josephina Ah Sam

Professional Teaching Fellow
Phone: +64 9 923 5244
Email: j.ahsam@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Miss Josephina Ah Sam's profile

"I'm the representative for the Department of Mathematics. I also represent Pacific students."

Miss Merrion Baker

Student Support Adviser
Phone: +64 9 923 3113
Emailm.baker@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Miss Merrion Baker's profile

"I'm a representative for the Science Student Centre."

Miss Stephanie Cooper

"I'm the representative for the Science Students' Association."

Ms Jocelyn Cumming

Senior Tutor
Phone: +64 9 923 5756
Email: j.cumming@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Jocelyn Cumming's profile  

"I'm the representative for the Department of Statistics."

Dr Rebecca Deed

Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: rebecca.deed@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Rebecca Deed’s profile 

"I'm the representative for the School of Chemical Sciences. I'm a member of the Rainbow Science Network, and an advocate for Women in Science."

Dr Miro Erkintalo 

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 5911
Email: m.erkintalo@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Miro Erkintalo's profile  

"I'm a representative for the Department of Physics."

Dr Anne Gaskett

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 9509
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Anne Gaskett’s profile  

"I’m a woman in science, and a parent, and I’m the Equity representative for the School of Biological Sciences. I have a particular interest in diversifying the field of ecology, particularly by working towards more inclusive access to undergraduate courses with fieldtrips."

Dr Sina Greenwood

Associate Dean, Pacific
Phone: +64 9 923 8776
Emails.greenwood@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Sina Greenwood's profile

"I'm the Associate Dean for Pacific."

Ms Glenda Haines

Student and Academic Services Manager
Phone: +64 9 923 3494
Email: g.haines@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Glenda Haines’ profile  

"I'm linked to the following constituencies: Women in Leadership programme (member of the working group); Professional Staff Manager's Forum working group; Rainbow Science Network; Faculty of Science Wellbeing Community of Interest; Student Services Community of Practice."

Ms Kate Hannah

Research Operations Manager
Phone: +64 9 923 8716
Email: k.hannah@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Kate Hannah’s profile

"I am a woman in science who isn’t a woman OF science; I’m a parent; I’m a professional staff member; I’m on the organising group for the Women in Science Network; and I'm in Physics. I also represent Te Pūnaha Matatini."

Dr Veema Lodhia

Technical Team Leader
Phone: +64 9 923 7503
Email: v.lodhia@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Veema Lodhia’s profile  

"I am the Technical Team Leader so I represent both professional and technical staff. I'm also an early-career researcher and a woman in science, so I represent both of these interests in the Equity Committee."

Miss Alice McSherry

Doctoral candidate
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Emaila.mcsherry@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Miss Alice McSherry's profile

"I represent doctoral students."

Dr Elizabeth Peterson

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 9693
Emaile.peterson@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Elizabeth Peterson's profile

"I'm the representative for the School of Psychology."

Dr Pat Riddle

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 7093
Emailpat@cs.auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Pat Riddle's profile

"I'm the representative for the School of Computer Science."

Dr Ivana Sequeira

Research Fellow
Email: i.sequeira@auckland.ac.nz

"I represent postdoctoral staff."

Mr Jason Tutara

Kaiārahi
Phone: +64 9 923 7253
Emailj.tutara@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Mr Jason Tutara's profile

Ms Mel Wall

Senior Tutor
Phone: +64 9 923 7949
Email: m.wall@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Mel Wall’s profile 

"I'm the Equity representative for the School of Environment. I also represent Māori, and Women in Science."