Equity Committee

Meet our Faculty of Science Equity Committee (FoSEC) members, and access minutes and other documents.

Our vision

The Faculty of Science Equity Committee (FoSEC) works towards an inclusive and diverse faculty, where:

  • Staff and students from all backgrounds are valued, supported, and have real and meaningful opportunities for participation and success, without the operation of implicit or explicit bias which can result in discrimination.
  • Māori as tangata whenua, and members of equity groups, are full represented across students and staff, and have access to environments and resources that will help them to flourish.

FoSEC facilitates achievement of this vision through the development of initiatives to explore and support equity considerations, the implementation of policy and practice, and the monitoring and reporting of progress towards the achievement of this vision.

Minutes and documents

Access meeting minutes and other documents on our staff intranet page.

Committee Chair

Prof Virginia Braun

Associate Dean, Equity
Phone: +64 9 923 7561
Email: v.braun@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Prof Virginia Braun’s profile

Committee members

Dr Rebecca Deed

Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: rebecca.deed@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Rebecca Deed’s profile 

"I'm the Faculty of Science Postdoctoral Society representative. I'm a member of the Rainbow Science Network, and an advocate for Women in Science."

Dr JJ Eldridge

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 5911
Email: j.eldridge@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr JJ Eldridge’s profile  

"I'm a representative for the Department of Physics, the Rainbow Science Network and Trans on Campus."

Dr Anne Gaskett

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 9509
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Anne Gaskett’s profile  

"I’m a woman in science, and a parent, and I’m the Equity representative for the School of Biological Sciences. I have a particular interest in diversifying the field of ecology, particularly by working towards more inclusive access to undergraduate courses with fieldtrips."

Ms Glenda Haines

Student and Academic Serv Mgr
Phone: +64 9 923 3494
Email: g.haines@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Glenda Haines’ profile  

"I'm linked to the following constituencies: Women in Leadership programme (member of the working group); Professional Staff Manager's Forum working group; Rainbow Science Network; Faculty of Science wellbeing community of interest; co-chair for the Student Academic Services and Engagement Manager (SASEM) community of practice."

Ms Kate Hannah

Research Operations Manager
Phone: +64 9 923 8716
Email: k.hannah@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Kate Hannah’s profile 

"I am a woman in science who isn’t a woman OF science; I’m a parent; I’m a professional staff member; I’m on the organising group for the Women in Science Network; and I'm in Physics."

Dr Erin Leitao

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 5567
Email: erin.leitao@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Erin Leitao’s profile 

"I'm the School of Chemical Sciences representative on the Equity Committee; I'm a parent, and I'm an advocate for Women in Science."

Dr Veema Lodhia

Technical Team Leader
Phone: +64 9 923 7503
Email: v.lodhia@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Veema Lodhia’s profile  

"I am the Technical Team Leader so I represent both professional and technical staff. I'm also an early-career researcher and a woman in science, so I represent both of these interests in the Equity Committee."

Dr Andrew Luxton-Reilly

Associate Professor
Phone: +64 9 923 5654
Email: a.luxton-reilly@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Andrew Luxton-Reilly’s profile  

"I represent the Department of Computer Science. I am an academic and a parent (my children are aged 10, 6 and 3). All three of my kids have used the University creche at Alten Road and Symonds Street.”

Dr Chrissie Painting

Research Fellow
Email: chrissie.painting@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Chrissie Painting’s profile 

Dr Claire Postlethwaite

Associate Professor
Phone: +64 9 923 8817
Email: c.postlethwaite@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Dr Claire Postlethwaite’s profile  

"I'm a rep for the Department of Mathematics, and also for Women in Science and Undergraduate Women in Science."

Ms Margot Spraggon

Executive Assistant
Phone: +64 9 923 7019
Email: m.spraggon@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Margot Spraggon’s profile

"My role is 'minute taker' at the Equity Committee meetings and providing general assistance to other committee members on an ‘as required basis’."

Ms Mel Wall

Senior Tutor
Phone: +64 9 923 7949
Email: m.wall@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Ms Mel Wall’s profile 

"I'm the Equity representative for the School of Environment. I also represent Māori, and Women in Science."

Yalu Wen

Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 923 3214
Email: y.wen@auckland.ac.nz
Directory: Yalu Wen’s profile  

"I'm an academic, and I am the representative for the Department of Statistics."