Academic advice for postgraduate students

Find the contact information for an academic adviser in your field of postgraduate study.

School of Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences

Suzanne Reid
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: s.reid@auckland.ac.nz

Gregory Holwell
Responsibilities: PhD
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz

Gavin Lear
Responsibilities: PhD
Email: g.lear@auckland.ac.nz

Bioinformatics

Nicole Cloonan
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: n.cloonan@auckland.ac.nz

Bioscience Enterprise

Mia Jüllig
Responsibilities: PGDBE/MBE
Email: m.jullig@auckland.ac.nz

Biosecurity & Conservation

Bruce Burns
Responsibilities: PGDSC
Emailb.burns@auckland.ac.nz

Biotechnology

Augusto Barbosa
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: a.barbosa@auckland.ac.nz

Evgeniya Kruglova
Responsibilities: Sub-doctoral Admin for all SBS
Email: e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz

Patricia Rodriguez
Responsibilities: PhD Admin for all SBS
Email: p.rodriguez@auckland.ac.nz  

School of Chemical Sciences

Chemistry

Tilo Söhnel
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: t.soehnel@auckland.ac.nz

Bruno Fedrizzi
Responsibilities: PhD
Email: b.fedrizzi@auckland.ac.nz

Food Science

Siew-Young Quek
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: sy.quek@auckland.ac.nz

Forensic Science

Douglas Elliot
Responsibilities: PGDFS/MSC
Email: Douglas.Elliot@esr.cri.nz

Gordon Miskelly
Responsibilities: PGDFS/MSC
Email: g.miskelly@auckland.ac.nz

Wine Science

Neill Culley
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: n.culley@auckland.ac.nz

Linda Fotherby
Responsibilities: Admin for all SCS
Email: l.fotherby@auckland.ac.nz

School of Computer Science

Computer Science

Jing Sun
Responsibilities: PhD
Emailjing.sun@auckland.ac.nz

Matthew Egbert
Responsibilities: PhD (deputy)
Email: m.egbert@auckland.ac.nz

Yun Sing Koh
Responsibilities: MSC
Emailykoh@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Joerg Wicker
Responsibilities: MSC (deputy)
Email: j.wicker@auckland.ac.nz

Jiamou Liu
Responsibilities: BSCH
Email: jiamou.liu@auckland.ac.nz

Radu Nicolescu
Responsiblities: BSCH (deputy)
Email: r.nicolescu@auckland.ac.nz

Mano (Sathiamoorthy) Manoharen
Responsibilities: PGDSC
Email: mano@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Alex Shaw
Responsiblities: PGDSC (deputy)
Email: l.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

Data Science, Digital Security

Sebastian Link
Responsibilities: MPSTD
Email: s.link@auckland.ac.nz

Ninh Dang Pham
Responsibilities: MPSTD
Email: ninh.pham@auckland.ac.nz

Information Technology

Yu-cheng Tu
Responsibilities: MIT/PGDIT/PGCIT
Email: yu-cheng.tu@auckland.ac.nz

Andrew Meads
Responsibilities: MIT/PGDIT/PGCIT
Email: andrew.meads@auckland.ac.nz

Logic and Computation

Jeremy Seligman (Arts)
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: j.seligman@auckland.ac.nz

Debbie Haefele
Responsibilities: Admin (except DATA-MPSTD)
Email: d.haefele@auckland.ac.nz

Sarah Evill
Responsibilities: Admin for DATA-MPSTD
Email: sarah.evill@auckland.ac.nz

School of Environment

Environmental Management

Karen Fisher
Responsibilities: PGDSC/MSC
Email: k.fisher@auckland.ac.nz

Environmental Science

Kevin Simon
Responsibilities: PGDSC/MSC
Email: k.simon@auckland.ac.nz

Earth Sciences

Ludmila Adam
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Emaill.adam@auckland.ac.nz

Engineering Geology

Martin Brook
Responsibilities: MSC
Email: m.brook@auckland.ac.nz

Geography

Ward Friesen
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: w.friesen@auckland.ac.nz

Geophysics

Ludmila Adam
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: l.adam@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Rowe
Responsibilities: PhD for all SEnv specialisations
Email: michael.rowe@auckland.ac.nz

Chris Struthers
Responsibilities: Admin for all School of Environment
Email: c.struthers@auckland.ac.nz

Marine Science

Alwyn Rees
Responsibilities: PGDSC/MSC/MMS/PhD
Email: ta.rees@auckland.ac.nz

Jaime Rowntree
Responsibilities: Admin
Email: jaime.rowntree@auckland.ac.nz  

Department of Mathematics

Mathematics/Applied Mathematics

Hinke Osinga
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH
Email: h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz

Hinke Osinga
Responsibilities: MSC
Email: h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz

Rod Gover
Responsibilities: PhD
Email: r.gover@auckland.ac.nz

Mathematics Education

Tanya Evans
Responsibilities: MPSTD
Email: t.evans@auckland.ac.nz

Min-Ah Lee
Responsibilities: Admin for all Mathematics
Email: mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Optometry

Monica Acosta
Responsibilities: PGDSC/MSC - research
Email: m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz

Dr John Phillips
Responsibilities: MSC - taught
Emailj.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

Elviera Cowan
Responsibilities: Admin
Emailelviera.cowan@auckland.ac.nz

Pharmacology

Malcolm Tingle
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: m.tingle@auckland.ac.nz

Christine Headford
Responsibilities: Admin
Email: c.headford@auckland.ac.nz

Department of Physics

Frederique Vanholsbeek
Responsibilities: BSCH in Medical Physics and Imaging Technology
Emailf.vanholsbeeck@auckland.ac.nz

Stuart Murdoch
Responsibilities: BSCH in Photonics and PhD coordinator
Emails.murdoch@auckland.ac.nz

Kaspar van Wijk
Responsibilities: BSCH in Geophysics
Emailk.vanwijk@auckland.ac.nz

David Krofcheck
Responsibilities: BSCH/PGDSC/MSC
Email: d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

Jeanette Anderson
Responsibilities: Admin
Email: j.anderson@auckland.ac.nz

Physiology

Julie Lim
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

Kim Mellor
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: k.mellor@auckland.ac.nz

Christine Headford
Responsibilities: Admin
Email: c.headford@auckland.ac.nz

School of Psychology

Psychology (incl Clinical)

Karen Waldie
Responsibilities: PhD - general
Email: k.waldie@auckland.ac.nz

Kerry Gibson
Responsibilities: PhD - clinical
Email: kl.gibson@auckland.ac.nz

Sheryl Robertson
Responsibilities: Clinical admin (incl DCP)
Email: s.robertson@auckland.ac.nz

Admin

Nadia Kennington
Responsibilities: General enquiries
Email: n.kennington@auckland.ac.nz

Speech Science

Clare McCann
Responsibilities: PGDSC/MSC/MSLTPrac
Email: c.mccann@auckland.ac.nz

Kharmin Sukhia
Responsibilities: Admin for PGDSC/MSC/MSLTPrac
Email: k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz  

Department of Exercise Sciences

Exercise Sciences

Arne Nieuwenhuys
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: a.nieuwenhuys@auckland.ac.nz

Lynley Bradnam
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: l.bradnam@auckland.ac.nz

Clinical Exercise Physiology

Arne Nieuwenhuys
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: a.nieuwenhuys@auckland.ac.nz

Lynley Bradnam
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: l.bradnam@auckland.ac.nz

Kharmin Sukhia
Responsibilities: Admin for all specialisations
Email: k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz

Statistics

All other students

Geoff Pritchard
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: g.pritchard@auckland.ac.nz

All new students from China

Yong Wang
Responsibilities: PGDSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: yong.wang@auckland.ac.nz

All returning students

Andre Balemi
Responsibilities: PGSC/BSCH/MSC
Email: a.balemi@auckland.ac.nz

Rosemary Barraclough
Responsibilities: PhD
Email: rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz

Stephanie Stone
Responsibilities: Admin
Email: s.stone@auckland.auckland.ac.nz