Inaugural Lecture Series

Inaugural lectures are important flagship events in the Faculty of Science.

Our inaugural lectures are held by academic staff who have been newly appointed as professors, to celebrate the varied research we do across the faculty and inspire future scientists.

We host inaugural lectures throughout the academic year. They are free and open to everyone. These lectures are a great way of finding out more about the varied subjects our scientists are investigating and the applications of their research in society.

We will be hosting 11 inaugural lectures in 2021, six from professors who were appointed in 2021 and five from professors who were appointed in 2020, but were unable to hold their lectures because of COVID-19 alert level requirements.

A list of our 2021 lectures is provided below, with additional details being provided as we confirm each lecture. For more details and to register or find out about recorded sessions, please click on the links in the table below.

You can also watch recordings of lectures from previous years on our past lectures webpage.

Inaugural Lecture Series 2021

Date Speaker Lecture
Thursday, 18 March 2021
Professor Anthony Phillips So, what is it that you do at work again? (Recording not available)
Thursday, 25 March 2021 Professor Jan Lindsay Insights into volcanic risk from Auckland to the Antilles, Andes and Arabia (lecture recording)
Tuesday, 30 March 2021
Professor David Barker Molecule making – opportunity taking: a journey in synthetic chemistry (lecture recording)
Thursday, 29 April 2021 Professor
Michael Witbrock
The Future of Thinking (lecture recording)
Wednesday, 5 May 2021 Professor
James Russell
A scientific Swiss army knife for conservation (lecture recording)
Tuesday, 11 May 2021
Professor Duncan McGillivray Wandering on the edge – making sense of (bio)material interfaces (lecture recording)
Tuesday, 10 August 2021 Professor
Andrew Luxton-Reilly
Teaching Scholarship in a Changing World (lecture recording)
Postponed to 2022 Professor
Jennifer Salmond
Postponed to 2022 Professor
Siew-Young Quek
TBC Professor
Michael Taylor 
Professor Thomas Buckley TBC