About our school

Welcome to the School of Medical Sciences! Find out more about who we are and what we do.

The School of Medical Sciences is one of the University's biggest research and academic units. Through our departments and research centres we foster excellence in teaching and research throughout our various undergraduate and postgraduate courses.  

Our departments

Our school comprises of six departments, each of which offer medical sciences courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Our departments are:  

  • Department of Anatomy and Medical Imaging
  • Department of Molecular Medicine and Pathology
  • Department of Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Department of Oncology
  • Department of Pharmacology
  • Department of Physiology

Our programmes

The school’s specialised programmes may further lead to clinical registration with professional registration boards, such as the New Zealand Medical Radiation Technologists Board (MRTB) and the New Zealand Dietitians Board (NZDB).

Furthermore, the school also contributes intensively to the delivery of course materials in other medical and health related programmes including: