Contact our people

To contact a member of the Physics department, browse the details below. Here you will find our location, student advisors, and academic and professional staff.

For all enquiries regarding admission, enrolment, concessions and academic standing, please contact the Science Student Centre.

Physics office

Physical address
Science Centre
Building 303, Level 6
38 Princes Street
Location map (Google)

+64 9 373 7599 ext 88747
+64 9 373 7999 for operator
Fax: +64 9 373 7445

Twitter: @UOA_Physics

Postal address
Department of Physics
University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
New Zealand

Student advisors


Stage I Coordinator
Dr Mark Conway

Stage II & III Coordinator
Dr Maarten Hoogerland

Stage III Coordinator (on sabbatical Semester 1, 2019)
Associate Professor Peter Wills


BSc(Hons) in Medical Physics and Imaging Technology
Associate Professor Frederique Vanholsbeeck

BSc(Hons) in Photonics and PhD coordinator
Associate Professor Stuart Murdoch

BSc(Hons) in Geophysics
Associate Professor Kasper van Wijk

Honours/MSc/PGDipSci Coordinator
Dr David Krofcheck

Key academic staff

Click the link for the contact details of our Research Fellows or PhD Students.

For a searchable database of our masters and doctoral supervisors and research projects visit FindaThesis.

Te Pūnaha Matatini

Professor Shaun Hendy

Co-Deputy Director
Associate Professor Siouxsie Wiles

Executive Manager
Kate Hannah

Research Operations Coordinator
Kathryn Morgan

Marketing and Communications Advisor
Greg Town

Professional staff

Group Services Manager
Karren Maltseva

Group Services Team Leader
Anoma Ratnayake

Group Services Coordinator
Sue Western

Group Services Coordinator, Research
Genevieve Fitzjames
Dee Miles

Group Services Administrator
Sithra Sukumaar

Academic Services Coordinator
Jeanette Anderson

Academic Services Team Leader
Min-Young Lee

Research Programme Manager
Victoria Louise Smith

Research Programme Coordinator
Cheryl Yang

Technical Manager
Brody Radford

Harry Oudenhoven
Negar Zoka

Search for Physics staff

You can search for all other Physics staff using our staff directory.