Contact our people

To contact a member of the Institute of Marine Science, browse the details below. Here you will find our location, student advisors, and academic and professional staff.

For all enquiries regarding admission, enrolment, concessions and academic standing, please contact the Science Student Centre.

Marine office

Leigh campus
Leigh Marine Laboratory
160 Goat Island Road
Location map (Google)

+64 9 422 6111
+64 9 373 7599 ext 83600

Postal address
Leigh Campus
Leigh Marine Laboratory
P O Box 349
Warkworth 0941

Student advisors

Dr Neill Herbert

Dr Alwyn Rees

Key academic staff

Head of Department
Professor Simon Thrush

Search for Marine staff

To contact a member of our academic staff, please visit the Marine Science staff directory.

To contact someone about a particular area of research please visit our Marine Science research section or visit FindaThesis for a list of available supervisors.

Joint appointments

Professional staff

Operations Manager
Boyd Taylor

Group Services Coordinator
Jaime Rowntree

International Student Support Advisor
Kaiwen Yang

Senior Technician
Brady Doak

Electronics Technician
Jimmy Rapson

Laboratory Technician
Maria Mugica
Kate Shears

Seawater Technician
Errol Murray

Peter Browne

Marine Discovery Centre Manager
Tim Haggitt

Associate Finance Business Partner
David Jordan