SBS Equity Committee

Discover what we do, how we can help you and how you can connect with us.

SBS Equity Committee members
SBS Equity Committee members. Photo: Charlotte Johnson

We recognise Māori as tangata whenua with distinct status under Te Tiriti o Waitangi , and support Māori staff and students alongside the SBS Pūtaiao Committee.

We also support University of Auckland equity and underrepresented groups, including:

  • Pasifika students and staff
  • LGBTQITakatāpui+ students and staff
  • Students and staff of refugee background
  • Disabled students and staff
  • Parents and carers
  • Women, men or gender-diverse people where there are barriers to access and success
  • Part-time and casual contract workers

We can help you with:

  • Links to support group networks including Rainbow, Refugee, Parenting and Women in Science groups.
  • Parental leave, promotions and grant applications.
  • Inclusive approaches to research and teaching.
  • Advice on accessing the university’s support services for students and staff.
  • Incidents or equity-related issues that affect your study or work in SBS.
  • Support for students and staff facing mental health challenges
  • Accessing University of Auckland data, policies, and processes related to equity and inclusiveness

Contact the SBS equity committee, or any individual committee member, for confidential support or with your ideas for equity improvements in SBS by emailing

Contact us

Jessie Jacobsen: Co-chair. Students from refugee backgrounds; Parenting network.
Esther Bulloch: Co-chair. Equitable recruiting processes.
Cam Hoffbeck: Postgraduate student representative.
Diana Borse: Postgraduate student representative.
Jenn Jury: Student support.
Steph Stuteley: Postgraduate student representative.
James Brock: Rainbow network.
Nathan Deed: Technical staff representative.
Florian PichlmuellerResearch Fellow representative; Parenting network.
Anne Gaskett: Academic promotions; Equity data, policies and processes.
Farhad Farhadi: Technical staff representative.
Inken Kelch: Research Fellow representative.
Ivana Sequeira: Early career academic staff.