Contact our people

To contact a member of the School of Chemical Sciences, browse the details below. Here you will find our location, student advisers, and academic and professional staff.

Visit your Student Hubs for help and advice on any aspect of your studies and life at University. Find out more

Chemical Sciences office

School of Chemical Sciences
Science Centre,
Room 620
Level 6, Building 302
23 Symonds Street
Auckland Central
Location map (Google)

Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88805
Facebook: School of Chemical Sciences
Twitter: @SCSatUoA 

Postal Address
School of Chemical Sciences
University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland 1142
New Zealand

Chemistry Store Deliveries
Building 302, Level B, Room B10
Science Centre
Upper Wellesley Street East
Auckland 1010
New Zealand

Student advisers


Stage I
Dr Malini Arewgoda
Dr Kaitlin Beare

Stage II and III
Dr David Ware


Postgraduate Sub-doctoral Advisers
Associate Professor Geoffrey Waterhouse (Chemistry)
Dr Erin Leitao (Chemistry)
Professor Siew-Young Quek (Food Science)
Associate Professor SallyAnn Harbison (Forensic Science)
Associate Professor Gordon Miskelly (Forensic Science)
Mr Neill Culley (Wine Science)

Doctoral Adviser
Professor Jonathan Sperry

Search for Chemical Sciences staff

To contact a member of our staff you can search for their profile or browse the research categories listed below.

Key academic staff

Professional staff

Group Services Manager
Michael Groom

Group Services Team Leader
Anna-Marie Simcock

Group Services Coordinator
Hien Tran

Group Services Administrator
Aisha Khan

Laboratory Manager
Katrina Graaf

Senior Technician
Tatiana Groutso

Manager Advanced Teaching labs
Jeff Boyle

Associate Finance Business Partner
Ganga Asrani

Research Programme Manager
Helen Madden

Research Programme Coordinator(s)
Vinuli Withanarachchie
Farnaz Sheikh

Facilities Coordinator
Lynette Carter