Contact our people

To contact a member of the School of Psychology, browse the details below. Here you will find our location, student advisors, and academic and professional staff.

For all enquiries regarding admission, enrolment, concessions and academic standing, please contact the Science Student Centre.

Psychology office

School of Psychology
Science Centre
Level 2, Building 302,
23 Symonds Street
Auckland Central
Location map (Google)

Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88413
Twitter: @PsychUoA
Facebook: Speech Science UOA

Student advisors


Coordinator Stage I
Professor Tony Lambert

Coordinator Stage II
Dr Barry Hughes

Coordinator Stage III
Associate Professor Paul Corballis


Honours advisor
Dr Sarah Cowie

Postgraduate Diploma advisor
Dr Alex Taylor

Masters advisor
Dr Shiloh Groot

Doctoral advisor
Associate Professor Karen Waldie

International advisors
Associate Professor Karen Waldie
Dr Barry Hughes

Search for Psychology staff

If you know the name of the person you want to contact, please search the Psychology staff directory.

Or browse the research categories listed below.

Key academic staff

Head of School
Professor Suzanne Purdy

Deputy Head of School (Academic)
Associate Professor Claire Cartwright

Deputy Head of School (Research)
Professor Ian Kirk

Applied behaviour analysis
Dr Katrina Phillips (Director)
Dr Angela Arnold-Saritepe
Dr Sarah Leadley

Clinical and forensic psychology
Dr Sue Cowie (Co-director)
Dr Margaret Dudley, Te Rarawa, Te Aupōuri, Ngāti Kahu (Co Director)
Dr Nigel George (Psychology Clinic Director)
Professor Suzanne Barker-Collo
Associate Professor Claire Cartwright
Associate Professor Kerry Gibson
Ms Fiona Howard
Associate Professor Ian Lambie
Associate Professor Gwenda Willis

Developmental psychology
Dr Christopher Erb
Dr Annette Henderson
Dr Elizabeth Peterson

Evolutionary psychology
Professor Quentin Atkinson
Professor Russell Gray
Dr Alex Taylor

Industrial and organisational psychology
Dr Lixin Jiang

Learning and behavioural psychology
Dr John Yihao Bai
Dr Sarah Cowie
Professor Doug Elliffe

Neuroscience and cognitive psychology
Associate Professor Paul Corballis
Associate Professor Jeff Hamm
Associate Professor Michael Hautus
Dr Barry Hughes
Professor Ian Kirk
Dr Florian Kurth
Professor Tony Lambert
Associate Professor Eileen Lueders
Dr David Moreau
Associate Professor Lynette Tippett
Associate Professor Karen Waldie

Social, cultural and political psychology
Professor Virginia Braun
Professor Nicola Gavey
Dr Shiloh Groot
Professor Niki Harre
Dr Jade Le Grice
Dr Sam Manuela
Associate Professor Danny Osborne
Professor Nickola Overall
Professor Chris Sibley
Professor Margaret Wetherell

Speech science
Dr Clare McCann (Director)
Ms Philippa Friary (Director of Clinical Education)
Dr Elaine Ballard
Dr Linda Hand
Dr Anna Miles
Professor Suzanne Purdy

Academic advisors
Michelle Burstall
Andrea Mead

Click the link for the contact details of our Professional Teaching Fellows or Research Fellows.

For a searchable database of our masters and doctoral supervisors and research projects visit FindaThesis.

Professional staff

Group Services Manager
Michael Groom

Group Services Team Leader
Anna-Marie Simcock

Group Services Coordinator
Odette Groom

Group Services Administrator
Apoorva Nayak
Adeline Fung (Tāmaki)

Facilities Coordinator
Ruth Owen

Technical Team Leader
Dr Veema Lodhia

Dr Angela Carr
Peter Johnson
Michael Owens

Academic Services Coordinator
Nadia Kennington
Sheryl Robertson
Kharmin Sukhia (Speech Science)