The Faculty of Engineering offers a variety of specialisations that mirror the diversity of our five departments, the ever-evolving engineering profession, and our increasingly interdisciplinary research.

Undergraduate specialisations

Our nine Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) specialisations are accredited by Engineering New Zealand, a signatory of the Washington Accord. This makes it a recognisable engineering qualification in many countries.

Postgraduate specialisations

We additionally offer more postgraduate specialisations due to the detailed nature of advanced study. You can also undertake a study programme that’s either taught or research-focused.


Chemical and Materials Engineering

Civil Engineering

Computer Systems Engineering

Construction Management

Disaster Management

Electrical and Electronic Engineering


Engineering Management

Engineering Science

Environmental Engineering

Food Process Engineering

Geotechnical Engineering

Geothermal Energy Technology

Light Metals Reduction Technology

Mechanical Engineering

Mechatronics Engineering

Medical Devices and Technologies

Operations Research


Software Engineering

Transportation Engineering